Sauerkraut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. You have to get past the idea of the combination of these ingredients but it really does work. I had some sauerkraut that was leftover from another recipe which had apples, carrots and caraway seeds in it so I used it. I did not use the thyme as I am not a fan and the sauerkraut was already seasoned. I halved the recipe but used 4 Tablespoons of flour to be sure we got a thick soup. It actually turned out too thick and I had to add some chicken broth. Thanks for educating us on a different kind of soup. We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night, and it was a big hit!! My grandson who is only 2 yrs of age had 2 bowls of soup. It has a very pleasant taste. I will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was so good a little different, but great just as it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Trying to switch it up for dinner with smoked sausage can be difficult. This recipe was quick and simple. The results were great! My husband and teenage daughter weren't on board, but changed their tune after the first bite. The only thing that was adjusted was the simmer time. it took more like 10 minutes to thicken the soup. Awsome meal for a cold winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used pork sausage, added a little salt and pepper and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I give this five stars, w/an asterisks noting this is wonderful in cup/appetizer sizing! I wouldn't prefer it as an entree/meal, but in a smaller portion it is fantastic! I subbed smoked ham for the sausage (and sauteed it and the onion in a bit of butter), but other than that followed the recipe, though I did reduce the thyme a touch per personal preference. This was delicious and unlike anything I've ever eaten. I think it would be delicious w/some leftover mashed potatoes added to the mix, too. THANKS for the unusual recipe, KFREESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Perfect! and too easy. If it was healthy then I would eat it every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpaul

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I'll make it again and again! My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I really liked it, and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Reminds me of my Mom's sauerkraut and dumplings. After reading reviews, I decided to make it more thick by leaving out some of the milk and had it over mashed potatoes. I used a good quality smoked sausage from local meat company. Talk about comfort food on a very cold winter evening! My husband and two son's really enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States