Sauerkraut Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Very good! I am happily surprized by this soup. I didn't crock-pot this but made it in a dutch oven. Browned sausage first, drained it, wiped out most of grease from the oven. Added the onions, carrots, and mushrooms. Let them cook til onions were clear. Added 3 diced yukon gold potatoes, kraut, broth. Didn't have cream of soups, but didn't miss them at all. Added a bit of oregano instead of dill, as that's what was on hand and extra garlic. Makes a lot, so we'll be freezing at least half. Thanks for the great recipe. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This soup is just so good! I love making homemade soups and using the crock pot! I took the advise of other cooks and added chicken and sour cream. I also used fresh potatoes and carrots.I really enjoy making unique dishes and this one is a keeper! So nice to come home to this great soup that is perfect for a cold winter in PA! I served this with dilled Havarti cheese and warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I have made this soup numerous times and it's one of my family's favorite meals. They ask for it weekly! It's especially good during the cold winter months as it is very rich and filling. I made it the first time as written, and have since made the following changes. I only gave it four stars because I think it's much better with fresh vegetables instead of canned. I used three yukon gold potatoes (peeled and cubed) five or six carrots (peeled and coined) about 1 1/2 TBS dried dill weed, a 32 oz. jar of sauerkraut with the juice, and a little extra chicken broth. Also, I leave out the garlic. With these changes it's a fantastic meal if you're a sauerkraut lover! It really reminds me of the sauerkraut soup at the Polish restaurant in my hometown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azshelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This “Sauerkraut Soup II” is fantastic! It’s a simple recipe that demands attention because it is so unusual! Everyone at my office was asking for some when they smelt it warming up in the break room. I made a few changes….I left out the cream of chicken soup, and added instead a pound of chicken breasts. It shredded nicely in the soup and made it more of a hearty meal. I also used fresh potato’s and carrots, which worked out great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
My Husband absolutely LOVES this soup! I make it quite often. The flavor is tart which we like. I usually double the recipe because it goes so fast. I also use twice the sausage ( One pound of keilbasa and one pound of hot sausage). Fresh potatoes and carrots work perfectly. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
If you like sauerkraut, or even if you don't, then this is the recipe for you! We tend to like it a bit more on the sour side so we put some extra sauerkraut juice in and it turns out great everytime. Its quick and easy and I have made it about 10 times now. My mom is pretty picky with food and even she raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
I just love sauerkraut soup, and this was Way too tart!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was delicious-it made a nice lunch after being outside shoveling snow! I changed this a bit with low fat soups, low salt chicken broth, added fresh carrots, celery and mushrooms and then added 1/2 C. of fat free cream cheese to add to the creamy texture. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Terrific flavor! I made it in the crock pot. It is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
I used fresh carrots and potatoes rather than canned, and sauteed them in butter first. The soup is really delicious and my kids even liked it. Amazing! It's Oktoberfest time here, and this hearty German-style soup is perfect for a fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States