Sauerkraut Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very good. Especially a nice Oktoberfest addition. Next time I will probably use small red potatoes (not canned) and perhaps add a bit more Sauerkraut (cause I love sauerkraut). All in all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I've had this recipe in my files for years. I have never used potatoes in this soup but I might try it. Comes together great in a crock pot just dump everything in and cook on low about 6-8 hours. Thanks Terrilyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Loved the great taste in the original soup and then made it into more of a casserole by eliminating the water and cutting the broth down to 1 can. I doubled the recipe & added a little more meat.. A wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is very good and I even used a low fat sausage. It was wonderful and you don't feel guilty at all. I didn't have dill but I just used a little oregano instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Use 3-4 sliced carrots and a few chopped potatoes and par boli these first. Also, saute the onion and garlic a little first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
If you like sauerkraut, or even if you don't, then this is the recipe for you! We tend to like it a bit more on the sour side so we put some extra sauerkraut juice in and it turns out great everytime. Its quick and easy and I have made it about 10 times now. My mom is pretty picky with food and even she raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Like other viewers stated, this was wonderful. Thickened with a slurry towards the end because of hubby, but he loved, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I loved this recipe. I was a little cautious using canned veggies but it really comes out good. I love sauerkraut so I just put the whole can in. Wonderful Octoberfest food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Scrumptious Terrilyn! I too used fresh vegies, in addition to homemade stock I had in the freezer. For the meat, I just cut off what I had left from spare ribs we had last week. I did have the cream of chicken soup in the house, but strangely no mushroom, so I used a can of Bean and Bacon soup instead. As long as I was going this route, I decided to throw in some navy beans which really thickened it up nicely. My only other addition was about a tsp. of caraway seeds. I didn't tell the kids that there was kraut in the soup until after they fell in love with it! "Souper" and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I took one bite of this. Boyfriend didn't like it either. I don't think I've ever rated a recipe so low. I had such high hopes after reading the rave reviews on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States