Sauerkraut Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I think this recipe is great! If you love sauerkraut you will love this soup. It would even be good without sausage. I did not make this in the crock pot. I just cooked it on the stove. The sausage was pre-cooked so I didn't brown the sausage before I added it. This really is great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was delicious-it made a nice lunch after being outside shoveling snow! I changed this a bit with low fat soups, low salt chicken broth, added fresh carrots, celery and mushrooms and then added 1/2 C. of fat free cream cheese to add to the creamy texture. YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was awesome! I love sauerkraut and so did as another cook suggested and just put a whole bottle of wine sauerkraut in, juice and all. I also used fresh celery (I don't like carrots) and fresh potatoes (I have never bought canned potatoes??!). I used farmer sausage and just used chicken broth instead of water. Serve with a baguette and it's a wonderful meal!! Thanks for the recipe! :) It smells wonderful when cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
All my kids love this recipe. So do all my neices and nephews. As a matter of fact it is a big deal when I SURPRISE them with the soup. The kids ask for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Very good! I am happily surprized by this soup. I didn't crock-pot this but made it in a dutch oven. Browned sausage first, drained it, wiped out most of grease from the oven. Added the onions, carrots, and mushrooms. Let them cook til onions were clear. Added 3 diced yukon gold potatoes, kraut, broth. Didn't have cream of soups, but didn't miss them at all. Added a bit of oregano instead of dill, as that's what was on hand and extra garlic. Makes a lot, so we'll be freezing at least half. Thanks for the great recipe. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This soup is just so good! I love making homemade soups and using the crock pot! I took the advise of other cooks and added chicken and sour cream. I also used fresh potatoes and carrots.I really enjoy making unique dishes and this one is a keeper! So nice to come home to this great soup that is perfect for a cold winter in PA! I served this with dilled Havarti cheese and warm bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Nice for a change, but not something I would make on a regular basis. I liked the veggie combo, but wasn't sure about the smoked sausage - more of a texture thing rather than flavor. I think I may experiment with sauerkraut, mushrooms and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This “Sauerkraut Soup II” is fantastic! It’s a simple recipe that demands attention because it is so unusual! Everyone at my office was asking for some when they smelt it warming up in the break room. I made a few changes….I left out the cream of chicken soup, and added instead a pound of chicken breasts. It shredded nicely in the soup and made it more of a hearty meal. I also used fresh potato’s and carrots, which worked out great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My Mom has been making this for years and our family loves it. We like kraut, and made like this it has a nice mellow flavor. Mom also uses a summer sausage for meat cut into bite size pieces. The only thing hers has that this doesn't is mushrooms. She probably uses fresh veggies too. Highly recommend for your kraut lovers--a very hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
If you love kraut--you love this. Mmm--i did opt for fresh potatoes..but did not par-boil---which is what you need to do..otherwise..YUMMY :) thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naleek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States