Sauerkraut Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Loved this! It is great on a cold day like today. The flavor reminds me a little bit of the hot and sour soup you get in a Chinese restaurant. This makes a ton so I froze portions for later. I would make this again - very inexpensive to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
For one jar of sauerkraut with juice I would use extra juice from a second bag/ jar. Makes soup taste more tart. You can also add as much mushrooms as you like. I trippled the ammount. I also added about 4 cloves of garlic into onion mixture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I lost my original Christmas Polish sauerkraut soup recipe and this one is very musch like it. It is very good and our Polish friends and relatives love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
instead of the flour to thicken just use 2 cans of golden mushroom soup perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I am loving this soup. Very velvety tasting. Perfect for a dreary fall day watching football. Love the way the mushroom-onion-sauerkraut flavors meld. No changes to the recipe necessary. Wonderful original taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My grandpa used to make this soup every Christmas Eve. When he passed away I decided I would take up the task, but I had no idea how to make it. Many other recipes include kielbasa or some other sausage, but his was always meatless. So this recipe is perfect and I use it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jovi  K
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
very good! I had to add about 3 cups of water though. the juice is definately not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jovi  K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic! I was looking for a 'veggie' alternative to the traditional New Year's pork and sauerkraut and this is definately it! I ended up adding an extra quart of water and it was still plenty thick. I didn't have dried mushrooms so I added 2 TB of mushroom boulion base to the soup and then sauteed fresh mushrooms with the onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This soup was "Oh my"! good. My husband just loved it and it was so easy to make. Wonderful with a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Yum! I added some kielbasa and caraway to the soup and that really made the flavor. Without those additions, I think it would have just been sauerkraut in broth. I followed the rest of the recipe except I skipped the flour and butter roux, but this soup is still plenty thick without it. In fact, I had to had an extra quart of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States