Sauerkraut Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I lost my original Christmas Polish sauerkraut soup recipe and this one is very musch like it. It is very good and our Polish friends and relatives love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Yum! I added some kielbasa and caraway to the soup and that really made the flavor. Without those additions, I think it would have just been sauerkraut in broth. I followed the rest of the recipe except I skipped the flour and butter roux, but this soup is still plenty thick without it. In fact, I had to had an extra quart of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Loved this! It is great on a cold day like today. The flavor reminds me a little bit of the hot and sour soup you get in a Chinese restaurant. This makes a ton so I froze portions for later. I would make this again - very inexpensive to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
For one jar of sauerkraut with juice I would use extra juice from a second bag/ jar. Makes soup taste more tart. You can also add as much mushrooms as you like. I trippled the ammount. I also added about 4 cloves of garlic into onion mixture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was ridiculously good. All of the tart flavors mellow upon cooking and blend to create a buttery-ish flavor (i.e. in the French onion soup family). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Nice to have one that is vegetarian. (all the other ones I've seen for sauerkraut soup seem to contain meat!) Simple and good. I used rice in place of barley and sauteed FRESH mushrooms with the onion in butter instead of using dried mushrooms. Other than that, i followed the recipe as is... I really like this. It's a keeper and will make again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I am loving this soup. Very velvety tasting. Perfect for a dreary fall day watching football. Love the way the mushroom-onion-sauerkraut flavors meld. No changes to the recipe necessary. Wonderful original taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Darling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic! I was looking for a 'veggie' alternative to the traditional New Year's pork and sauerkraut and this is definately it! I ended up adding an extra quart of water and it was still plenty thick. I didn't have dried mushrooms so I added 2 TB of mushroom boulion base to the soup and then sauteed fresh mushrooms with the onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My grandpa used to make this soup every Christmas Eve. When he passed away I decided I would take up the task, but I had no idea how to make it. Many other recipes include kielbasa or some other sausage, but his was always meatless. So this recipe is perfect and I use it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This soup was okay. I know many people who fancy Eastern European ethnic foods and would be delighted with this, but it was kind of weird for my family. Too much sodium, and the the fat can be cut in half. I probably won't make this again, but if I did I would add more mushrooms, fresh cabbage, and caraway seeds. I think sliced bratwurst or a smoked sausage would be an excellent additon. This recipe makes more than 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States