Sauerkraut Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This soup was okay. I know many people who fancy Eastern European ethnic foods and would be delighted with this, but it was kind of weird for my family. Too much sodium, and the the fat can be cut in half. I probably won't make this again, but if I did I would add more mushrooms, fresh cabbage, and caraway seeds. I think sliced bratwurst or a smoked sausage would be an excellent additon. This recipe makes more than 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Yum! I added some kielbasa and caraway to the soup and that really made the flavor. Without those additions, I think it would have just been sauerkraut in broth. I followed the rest of the recipe except I skipped the flour and butter roux, but this soup is still plenty thick without it. In fact, I had to had an extra quart of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jovi  K
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
very good! I had to add about 3 cups of water though. the juice is definately not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jovi  K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I'm surprised, but I did find this too tart. I will rinse the kraut next time and likely also add a bit of plain green cabbage to mellow it out. I also found that I was missing a bit of a smokey flavour. I would consider adding some bacon or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Loved this! It is great on a cold day like today. The flavor reminds me a little bit of the hot and sour soup you get in a Chinese restaurant. This makes a ton so I froze portions for later. I would make this again - very inexpensive to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
For one jar of sauerkraut with juice I would use extra juice from a second bag/ jar. Makes soup taste more tart. You can also add as much mushrooms as you like. I trippled the ammount. I also added about 4 cloves of garlic into onion mixture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was ridiculously good. All of the tart flavors mellow upon cooking and blend to create a buttery-ish flavor (i.e. in the French onion soup family). I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This soup was "Oh my"! good. My husband just loved it and it was so easy to make. Wonderful with a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I lost my original Christmas Polish sauerkraut soup recipe and this one is very musch like it. It is very good and our Polish friends and relatives love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States