Sauerkraut Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These were great with a couple of changes. The dried beef is SO salty that the addition of garlic salt would have ruined them. Use garlic powder or fresh garlic instead. There is so much great flavor going on in the inside that plain bread crumbs work just fine if not better too. These were a little time consuming and made a huge mess but very much worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I added 2 T horseradish - it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Not my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Love the recipe. Instead of rolling them into balls I used the mixture and put inside premade eggroll wrappers and fried them. It was much cleaner than the flour egg frying and they are delish! You can dip in thousand island dressing. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These are amazing! Time consuming but so worth it. They taste exaclty like what they are... sausage and sauerkraut. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt because I do not cook with salt when it is in other ingredients. I used a little more sauerkraut as my family loves it. The trick to these is the size too big or too small they will fall apart. I made them all meatball sized and none of them fell apart. I also dredge them in the flour, liquid and bread crumbs and let them settle and create the "shell" before frying. If you like sausage and sauerkraut you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Mmmm... good! Mine turned out a bit spicy as I used my homemade breakfast sausage and spiced it up - a lil heavy on the cayenne I think! I used my homemade sauerkraut chopped finely in a processor and was a little bit short of the 2 c. (probably @ 1.5 c. before chopping) so not a heavy kraut flavor; great for my BF as he doesn't even LIKE kraut and had no idea it was in them until I told. I have never understood the flour, egg, crumb steps but, my friend, it works so well on anything I have ever breaded and deep fried I don't question it. The only thing I really changed was to use garlic cloves sauteed with the pork mixture (as I felt it had enough salt in the pork) and half cream cheese and half mozzarella (which I had INTENDED to be Swiss.) I will try these again with 1/2 cream and 1/2 Swiss. They held their shape frying but crumbled when cutting so perhaps an egg added into the pork mix? Or be less impatient and make them 1" bite size per instructions! (My deep fryer is really tiny.)Also baking would be healthier but I really liked the extra crisp crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Love this recipe. Easy and tasty. Thanks George
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Followed recipe exactly. It kept falling apart when trying to form into balls. Had to fill sink with ice water to help. Made a dip with avocado and ranch dressing, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have been making these for the past few years for Christmas Eve or New Year's Eve and they continue to be a hit! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
They are time consuming, but if time isn't a problem, they are so worth it. Everyone loved them. I used thousand island dressing as a dip for them. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ozawkie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States