Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
this was delcious!! a nice new spring/summer salad!! i too cut down the amount of oil but otherwise followed the recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee'

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is so easy and so good. Next time I will use half the oil, but I'm keeping the sugar as is to 'care' for my sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Demsky
Home Town: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Mmmmm! This is an excellent salad!! Just enough sweet, just enough tang. I didn't change a single thing. I brought it to a family get-together, and everyone just raved over it! I am positive the taste would get even better if this was refrigerated even longer than 2 days, but I won't know unless I double the recipe next time, because we had not a morsel leftover! It is now my assigned duty to bring this dish to all family events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I have made a variation of this, but you didn't have to wait two days for it. However, this is a very good salad even with the two day wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I couldn't find my my great-grandmothers recipe so I used this as a base and used 1/3 c brown sugar, 1/3 c. sugar, 1/3 cider vinegar, and 1/3 c. oil (so not as much oil/sugar). I also added celery seed. Thanks for sharing - I forgot how much I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Great recipe. has wonderful flavor and wonderful BRIGHT COLORS! We ate it immediately, did not wait 2 days... ~ too much oil. i would cut the oil in half. otherwise its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Excellent way to get those who didn't care for Krout to enjoy it at last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Okay, I admit that the main reason I made this salad was because I wanted a picnic side dish that could be made in advance, and because I had a lot of sauerkraut on hand. I certainly wasn't expecting to become ADDICTED to it, but I definitely am. This salad may sound a bit odd, and may even look a bit odd, but it is wonderful stuff. I did cut the oil in half, but that was the only thing I changed. I will make this salad again and again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great, simple salad that makes for an excellent snack, side dish or relish. I would suggest using only 1/4 cup of oil and far less sugar though. I used about 1 cup sugar and still found it too sweet for my taste. I think it would do fine with even just 1/2 cup sugar. I also substituted red bell pepper for the pimento. The other great thing about this recipe is it keeps for ages and still tastes great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I love this stuff! I take it in my lunch all week and it stays nice and crunchy. I cut a couple of turkey hot dogs into bite size peices and nuke them in the microwave. Dump a cup of this salad (minus as much of the juice as possible because of all the oil and sugar) and yum-0! Lots of veggies and no bread for the weight conscious. I've had to give the recipe to co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States