Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great, simple salad that makes for an excellent snack, side dish or relish. I would suggest using only 1/4 cup of oil and far less sugar though. I used about 1 cup sugar and still found it too sweet for my taste. I think it would do fine with even just 1/2 cup sugar. I also substituted red bell pepper for the pimento. The other great thing about this recipe is it keeps for ages and still tastes great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I love this stuff! I take it in my lunch all week and it stays nice and crunchy. I cut a couple of turkey hot dogs into bite size peices and nuke them in the microwave. Dump a cup of this salad (minus as much of the juice as possible because of all the oil and sugar) and yum-0! Lots of veggies and no bread for the weight conscious. I've had to give the recipe to co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Excellent!! We changed nothing and everyone that tried this was pleasantly surprised and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Benton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Intresting but don't make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I would suggest using less oil than the recipe calls for (about half). Otherwise this salad was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Whoa; I love sauerkraut but where's the bucket? I made this and waited the full 2 days. My 'fridge reeked along with every item of food in with it. My girlfriend almost yakked just whiffing it. I tossed this down the disposal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
i love sauerkraut, and this recipe was no exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
If you don't like strong vinegary tastes, you aren't going to like this. However, even if you don't like sauerkraut, don't be put off - if you let it sit in the 'frige as instructed, there is virtually no sauerkraut taste. Anyway, I LOVED this! I made it with a 14.5oz can of sauerkraut, and pretty much just eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. It got rather 'juicy' the next day - probably because I didn't drain the sauerkraut - but I just poured the liquid away. This salad is so crunchy and refreshing! Thanks so much, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Sounded kinda funky...but thought it would go well with the corned beef and cabbage, Irish soda bread, Irish cream chocolate cheese cake, and Irish potato candy on St Pat's day - and it did! I had to double the recipe for the crowd I was having for dinner and it went very well. Got several requests for the recipe. try it-you'll like it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This an excellent salad. Great with sandwiches. Hard to wait the 2 days but worth the wait. Good idea to cut oil and use splenda for the sugar. Pays to read reviews to get input from others who have tried the recipe. Once you try it, it won't be long till second trial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hubbard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States