Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this was very skeptical since it was sauerkraut...family not big fans of sauerkraut. However this was wonderful. My kids and husband liked it. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was allright. Made this on a Sunday and my fiance and I finally got around to eating it one day shy of a week later! I was planning to make Hungarian Goulash II this past week (I just started a new job and don't get home until 7ish; I had planned to slow cook a warm meal during the week, but was sick with the flu so I just made this this past weekend!) and thought this would be the perfect side dish to serve with it. My fiance didn't care for this at all (he wasn't fond of the sweet taste - and whoa is this sweet!!!); I thought this was so-so - pretty mediocre, IMHO. My fiance also felt that my "attempt" to pair sauerkraut with goulash was not a good idea lol :) All in all, I am glad I gave this a try, but because my fiance and I weren't impressed, I probably won't make it again. For those of you thinking of giving this a try, my only CRITICAL suggestion is to cut down on the sugar and oil (I cut back to 1/2 cup oil, but didn't decrease the amount of sugar called for). Thanks for sharing Dixie :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added a green and one red fresh garden jalapeno's to this at the end to spice it up. It was very sweet coming right out of the refridgerator. Once it sat out at room temperature it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was really tasty. Kind of addicting once you start eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was darn close to Grandma's recipe! The original recipe appeared to have way too much sugar and oil (Grandma's was not oily at all), so I used the suggestion of another reviewer's recipe and used 1/3 c. each of oil, sugar, and vinegar. The final result was close, but just did not have the "zing" that Grandma's did, so I will play around with this and increase the sugar and vinegar a bit to see if I can capture the taste of Grandma's. Thanks for a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I cut back on oil and substituted Splenda for sugar. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is crazy, freaking good. I used 1/2 the sugar recommended, but otherwise made as directed. My significant other and I both loved it. Will make this with all leftover sauerkraut from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Like everyone else I reduced the oil by half, and it was a BIG hit. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I was not too sure about the looks of this salad after I prepared it. Nonetheless, I waited the two recommended days before trying it. Wow! It was really good. Lots of flavor and zing. As with other reviewers, I prepared the salad with 1/2 cup of canola oil instead of the one cup recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Made this two days ago and tried some of it today. It will be much better if you cut the sugar by 1/3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States