Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I looked up a sauerkraut salad recipe on this site & picked out this one. I made it for a Christmas Meal for a garden club and all of the ladies liked it very much. I was totally surprised at the "Not Worth the wait comment". I made it exactly as it said but I did stir it several times after refrigerating it. I will admit it does make more salad dressing than you will need. Checkmate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
My family LOOOOOVED this recipe, with the modification that I made everything according to the recipe, but as I was pouring the sugar mixture over the salad, realized that the vegetables would literally be swimming in the sugar/oil/vinegar if I used the entire amount called for. So I only used about half of the liquid. I'll probably make slightly less than half the amount next time to go over the vegetables. This was used for a few weeks as a random side dish (it makes a LOT and I prefer to eat it a little at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent! First time I had way too much dressing so I used it on leaf salad. Sec time, I cut back on the oil and sugar. Better than coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Way less sugar, added black pepper, celery seed and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Let me start by saying I love Sauerkraut! That being said this salad is a winner. I used homemade sauerkraut, half the oil as suggested in previous reviews and used 1/2 cup sauerkraut juice & 1/2 tsp Mustard seed, 1/2 tsp Celery seed & 1/4 tsp Fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stumbing Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this salad to take to a BBQ. Those who didn't like sauerkraut were skeptical at first but after everyone else was raving about how good it was they had to try it! It was a real hit and I came home with an empty bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamusmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Easy and fast, I made it and we ate it an hour later, it was delicious. I used slightly less sugar and oil than called for. I think you could cut the oil in half. My mother and husband both loved it, as did I. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this but, just a little too sweet, next time I'm going to try knocking the sugar down to 1 cup, and as was sugggested, I only used 1/2 cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was excellent, and the longer it sat, the better it tasted- while the vegetables remained crunchy. I usually don't like overly sweet food, so I was a little worried about the amount of sugar in this recipe, but to my surprise I did not find it to be too sweet. However, every time I ate this I felt a little guilty about the amount of sugar and oil, so next time I make it I will cut down on both. Four stars instead of five because although it is delicious and unique, it could be healthier with less sugar/oil. Thanks for the recipe; this one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States