Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I doubled this recipe for a bbq. Let it sit in the refridge two days, then drained off the liquid the afternoon before the bbq and covered it with aluminum foil face down (don't know if that did anything). Anyway, it was a big hit and it was not too sweet. I'm keeping this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Laurange

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Only gave 4 stars as I did use less sugar, oil, and vinegar. I only had half a quart of Sauer kraut so I used 1/3 c of each. This tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is very good but know up front that the quantity of dressing you end up with is at least double (or more) the amount you need. I hate to waste but had to pour a lot of it off. Next time I will make much less dressing. Other than that, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Everyone that eats it wants the recipe, including my mother-in-law!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Been making this for well over 40 years,,,Never with oil, but my style had 2 cups fresh bean sprouts added, it always adds to a meal...and great for snacks,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I looked up a sauerkraut salad recipe on this site & picked out this one. I made it for a Christmas Meal for a garden club and all of the ladies liked it very much. I was totally surprised at the "Not Worth the wait comment". I made it exactly as it said but I did stir it several times after refrigerating it. I will admit it does make more salad dressing than you will need. Checkmate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
My family LOOOOOVED this recipe, with the modification that I made everything according to the recipe, but as I was pouring the sugar mixture over the salad, realized that the vegetables would literally be swimming in the sugar/oil/vinegar if I used the entire amount called for. So I only used about half of the liquid. I'll probably make slightly less than half the amount next time to go over the vegetables. This was used for a few weeks as a random side dish (it makes a LOT and I prefer to eat it a little at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent! First time I had way too much dressing so I used it on leaf salad. Sec time, I cut back on the oil and sugar. Better than coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Way less sugar, added black pepper, celery seed and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Let me start by saying I love Sauerkraut! That being said this salad is a winner. I used homemade sauerkraut, half the oil as suggested in previous reviews and used 1/2 cup sauerkraut juice & 1/2 tsp Mustard seed, 1/2 tsp Celery seed & 1/4 tsp Fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stumbing Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States