Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
I enjoyed this at a friend's BBQ and had to have the recipe! The combination sounds odd, but the end result is fantastic. I served it with grilled andouille sausage and creamy potato gratin. It was a memorable meal thanks to this inspired dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I am now using all splenda and no sugar, about 6 or 8 of the little coffee size bags...I some times grate carrots in it... Seems to last for weeks, i.e. I ain't dead yet...I keep it in the frige at all times, I probably use more onions, celery then called for...You can't go wrong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe is Great with modifications. I followed another's suggestion to use 1/3 cup sugar (white), 1/3 cup oil, 1/3 cup cider vinegar. I also used 3 stalks celery, 1 whole red pepper in place of pimentos, 2 carrots shredded/grated, and 1 onion finely chopped. I think the caraway seed could have been increased a little bit. I might try that next time. Thanks for a new way to prepare sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I thought this was good. I might decrease the sugar a bit next time, but it really is a delightful change of pace from regular sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Wow, tangy is right! I love sauerkraut, but the cider vinegar seemed to overpower it a little too much. Next time, I'll use a bit less than 1/4 cup. *edit* I took this to work, everyone raved. Some begged me for the recipe, too. So, although I didn't care for it at first, other people couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I did not know what taste to expect and was pleasantly surprised. I would cut the oil and sugar in half next time and perhaps try fresh shredded cabbage instead of kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bandito
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is amazingly good. Went well with a pork roast and corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Tasty! Very flavorful. Pretty much exactly what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
ooops not dill seed Celery seed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States