Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
We loved this bread !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is some great bread! I love the caraway and sauerkraut flavors. Next time I would probably use even more caraway and try beer instead of the water. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, then shaped the dough into a loaf, let it rise for 1 hour, then baked at 350 F for 45 minutes. That worked perfectly. Oh, also, I was out of molasses so I used maple syrup. That worked in a pinch but I'd go for molasses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I used cumin seeds instead of caraway and the result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Great flavor but I'll be working to fine tune it next time I use this recipe. My loaf rose some but was a little too dense. When pressed it does not spring back; it creates a gummy spot instead. Also, I will chop the sauerkraut before use next time. The flavor is good enough to make it worth the work to find the way to make this work in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I was looking for recipes to help use up the sauerkraut we have and I found this. I tried it today and I have to say it's AWESOME! I expected it to be a heavier bread like rye normall is, but it turned out so light and delicious! Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
not a bad recipe. I used whole grain rye flour (which was a mistake) and was a little disappointed that it was so grainy. It was actually better the next day and was not so coarse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seaweasel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this by hand and it came out so tasty and moist, not dry or crumbly at all. I might suggest chopping the kraut a bit before adding it so the pieces are shorter and not as stringy in the bread. Delicious on its own or as a sandwhich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
the sauerkraut adds a fantastic twist to an otherwise simple rye bread recipe. i tweaked the instructions a bit - added just 1/2 tsp yeast and let the dough rise for a much longer time -- 8 hours, punching 3x in 2-3 hour intervals -this gives it more flavor and a wonderful chewey texture. baked at 350 for 45 min. it came out with crisp, thick crust but packed and slightly moist inside -- just as i want my bread to be.... who says that bread is best eaten 12 hours after taking it out of the oven? this one won't even last that long in my kitchen...it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I guess I shouldn't rate this recipe because I could not find rye flour in my store so I substituted whole wheat. I cooked followed the rest of the recipe exactly and still cooked it on the basic bread cycle. Even though I am sure not using rye flour drastically changes the flavor of the bread, what I ended up with was very tasty indeed. I served it with my home made borscht and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I made this bread while making the Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut from this website. I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. You couldn't taste or see the kraut. My mom wasn't a fan of the taste of caraway seeds but I loved it. I also added Vital Wheat Gluten to the flour mixture. Will make it everytime with the pork and sauerkraut recipe. Thank you! Made this again on New Years Day and we really love this recipe! We decrease the amount of caraway seeds since our sauerkraut already had the caraway seeds in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States