Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I have made this twice this week -both times not in a bread maker. First time the bread was fantastic but I did not bake it long enough so the centre of loaf was a bit chewy but taste was great and the error was mine - 40 minutes would have been a better cooking time then 35 in my oven. I also took the advise of another writer who said she let it rise 3 times as I had the time. I would not hesitate to only rise twice if I was in more of a hurry. 2nd time I made this recipe, I formed into buns for the sausages we were cooking on the barbecue - again great taste - rose well and enjoyed by all. We make this a regular bread in our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Wowee, wow, wow. This bread has great flavour and is incredibly moist. Truth be known, I've never had sauerkraut before, so I was very wary about baking this bread...but the flavour is subtle. I used Rye flour as directed, but used whole wheat flour instead of white bread flour. Turned out great. Will be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I was a little concerned when I removed this bread from my Wellbuilt bread machine and saw how small it was. In other instances a small loaf = doorstop. However once I tasted it, the bread was a bit dense but still acceptable. If you would like a lighter loaf, I would recommend that if your bread machine allows you to pause the stage between rising & baking, push the pause button and give it some more time. Otherwise you may simply want to switch the bread machine off, let the dough rise for an extra hour or so and then bake it in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I loved this bread! Came out perfect from the bread machine, I got a really good rise. Might try to increase the rye a bit next time! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Really good recipe. I'm not a big fan of sauerkraut, but you can't even taste it in the bread. Really good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very nice flavor and quite simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Excellent! Bread is moist with a great deep brown color, already made twice this week. I did take note of others that said not to overdrain sauerkraut. Followed recipe exactly as rec'd breadmaker for Christmas & new to breadmaking. Our favorite recipe so far!You've got to try it - don't let the sauerkraut scare you off, you can't taste it, but it gives the bread the rich flavor - 5 BIG STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The sauerkraut keeps it moist but you can't taste it. Even when I buy rye from the store sometimes it tates like cardboard it is hard to get a moist rye but this is very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We made hot dog buns with this recipe, and they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Baked on 1.5lb loaf with medium setting and it came out ok, but a bit too crispy on the outside. I will try light next time. Didn’t taste sauerkraut at all. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States