Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I made this bread while making the Slow Cooker Lancaster County Pork and Sauerkraut from this website. I was pleasantly surprised by the taste. You couldn't taste or see the kraut. My mom wasn't a fan of the taste of caraway seeds but I loved it. I also added Vital Wheat Gluten to the flour mixture. Will make it everytime with the pork and sauerkraut recipe. Thank you! Made this again on New Years Day and we really love this recipe! We decrease the amount of caraway seeds since our sauerkraut already had the caraway seeds in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My husband loved this bread! I made it right before going out of town so I didn't get any fresh, but the one slice that was left a week later was really good. I actually had to add a little water and give the bread maker some TLC and help with mixing - maybe I drained the sauerkraut too well. Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Makes delicous sandwiches but is great with just butter. Couldn't stop eating it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This bread is so good! It's wonderful for sandwiches. I didn't get a chance to use it for Reuben sandwiches before the first loaf was all gone! The sauerkraut really adds moisture and flavor. I doubled the caraway seed as others have mentioned. I added 2 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten and the texture was perfect. I made this on the 1.5 lb loaf white bread cycle with light crust and it was just right! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Very Good and easy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I was attracted to LynninHK's photo of this bread, and although mine didn't rise much or produce as beautiful a loaf as her picture, the bread was dense, savory, and delicious. I added a heaping tablespoon of caraway seeds because I love the aroma and 2 teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa powder to make the bread darker. Had a slice with butter straight out of the oven, then used the rest for Reuben Sandwich I, on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is a very good rye bread. Moist and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Nice rye bread. The bread had a medium density with a light rye flavor. The bread was small and compact from the bread machine. I liked the flavor and texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Husband loved this, I thought it was pretty good, although it was much heavier and more dense than I expected. I'll make it again if asked. Thanks, Lea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This bread is fabulous! I made it in my bread machine, but I used the dough cycle, so that I could make 2 smaller loaves instead of 1 large one. You can't actually taste the sauerkraut (which "disappears" as the bread bakes), but it gives a great, tangy flavor to this bread. It was the hit of the church bake sale, and I got lots of requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States