Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Great recepie. I love this bread with onion soup or for a ruben sandwitch. Just be sure to make sure the sauerkraut is very drained. The extra moisture will make your bread machine mix too wet. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I'd give this recipe ten stars if I could. The sauerkraut and molasses in the bread makes it so tasty. I used it to make a reuben sandwich and hubby said it is much more flavorful than the one at our favorite deli, which uses plain rye bread. To make in oven: bake at 350F for 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I was looking for something very rye, and found this one. Sauerkraut is not much familiar in Japan except at German beer houses, but I have always more loved garnished sauerkraut than sausages. I failed first time, though. I think I wasn't taking much seriously the advice to have the sauerkraut well drained. So the second time, I duly followed that tip, and the result was just perfect. I just love the aroma while baking, and in my kitchen where the bread is now sitting. Thanks for this inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this by hand and it came out so tasty and moist, not dry or crumbly at all. I might suggest chopping the kraut a bit before adding it so the pieces are shorter and not as stringy in the bread. Delicious on its own or as a sandwhich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is some great bread! I love the caraway and sauerkraut flavors. Next time I would probably use even more caraway and try beer instead of the water. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, then shaped the dough into a loaf, let it rise for 1 hour, then baked at 350 F for 45 minutes. That worked perfectly. Oh, also, I was out of molasses so I used maple syrup. That worked in a pinch but I'd go for molasses next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe. The bread was so moist inside and had a crispy crust. Next time I make it, I will double the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I was attracted to LynninHK's photo of this bread, and although mine didn't rise much or produce as beautiful a loaf as her picture, the bread was dense, savory, and delicious. I added a heaping tablespoon of caraway seeds because I love the aroma and 2 teaspoons of unsweetened cocoa powder to make the bread darker. Had a slice with butter straight out of the oven, then used the rest for Reuben Sandwich I, on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Nice rye bread. The bread had a medium density with a light rye flavor. The bread was small and compact from the bread machine. I liked the flavor and texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Excellent! Bread is moist with a great deep brown color, already made twice this week. I did take note of others that said not to overdrain sauerkraut. Followed recipe exactly as rec'd breadmaker for Christmas & new to breadmaking. Our favorite recipe so far!You've got to try it - don't let the sauerkraut scare you off, you can't taste it, but it gives the bread the rich flavor - 5 BIG STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Makes delicous sandwiches but is great with just butter. Couldn't stop eating it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States