Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Great recepie. I love this bread with onion soup or for a ruben sandwitch. Just be sure to make sure the sauerkraut is very drained. The extra moisture will make your bread machine mix too wet. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe. The bread was so moist inside and had a crispy crust. Next time I make it, I will double the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
A delicious tangy and chewy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Very tasty - my family was surprised when I told them it was made with sauerkraut. Left out caraway seeds because we don't like them so ours probably wasn't as pungent as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I'd give this recipe ten stars if I could. The sauerkraut and molasses in the bread makes it so tasty. I used it to make a reuben sandwich and hubby said it is much more flavorful than the one at our favorite deli, which uses plain rye bread. To make in oven: bake at 350F for 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I was looking for something very rye, and found this one. Sauerkraut is not much familiar in Japan except at German beer houses, but I have always more loved garnished sauerkraut than sausages. I failed first time, though. I think I wasn't taking much seriously the advice to have the sauerkraut well drained. So the second time, I duly followed that tip, and the result was just perfect. I just love the aroma while baking, and in my kitchen where the bread is now sitting. Thanks for this inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This bread is fabulous! I made it in my bread machine, but I used the dough cycle, so that I could make 2 smaller loaves instead of 1 large one. You can't actually taste the sauerkraut (which "disappears" as the bread bakes), but it gives a great, tangy flavor to this bread. It was the hit of the church bake sale, and I got lots of requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Husband loved this, I thought it was pretty good, although it was much heavier and more dense than I expected. I'll make it again if asked. Thanks, Lea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Nice rye bread. The bread had a medium density with a light rye flavor. The bread was small and compact from the bread machine. I liked the flavor and texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is a very good rye bread. Moist and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States