Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
What a great bread! I've mad this 3 times now & it turns out perfect each time. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Loved this! Don't rinse and drain the sauerkraut unless you want all the flavor to go down the drain; I just squeezed it out a little. Really nice and hearty, I used it for French dips. I dipped the tops in sea salt/caraway seeds/garlic powder before baking, and they were outstanding! I made 9 rolls, they were a little small so next time I'll make 6 rolls. It's a keeper, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I am not a big fan of caraway and this recipe was delicious! Very chewy crumb. Good toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellanotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSEP47
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I like the fact that I hardly taste the sauerkraut, but it gives the bread a wonderful texture. This is excellent rye bread. I used the dough cycle and made two small braids. I let them rise for about an hour and brushed them with egg substitute right before baking to give them some shine. The smaller loaves bake faster, about 25-30 minutes in the convection oven. The only change I made was adding a tablespoon of vital gluten. I think it improves the keeping quality of homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is the loaf that all others should be measured by. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
My husband rates this 3 Stars...said it was "Nothing to write Home about"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was delicious, my company couldn't believe it had sauerkraut and asked for the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I never rate recipes however this was so easy and people raved about it! You can't go wrong with making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I made it with pickle instead of sauerkraut and whole wheat flour instead of bread flour along with the rye. Everybody thoroughly enjoyed the bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I have made this twice this week -both times not in a bread maker. First time the bread was fantastic but I did not bake it long enough so the centre of loaf was a bit chewy but taste was great and the error was mine - 40 minutes would have been a better cooking time then 35 in my oven. I also took the advise of another writer who said she let it rise 3 times as I had the time. I would not hesitate to only rise twice if I was in more of a hurry. 2nd time I made this recipe, I formed into buns for the sausages we were cooking on the barbecue - again great taste - rose well and enjoyed by all. We make this a regular bread in our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States