Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I had some leftover sauerkraut so I chose to make this bread with our dinner. IF I were to make it again, I would still let the bread machine do most of the work but would bake in my oven. It didn't seem to get enough "rising" time in the bread machine. (It is a Zojirushi brand) The bread tasted good but Darn--it was heavy and on the small size. I weighed it on my kitchen scale at 1.73lbs! We will still eat the leftovers and anything I have left after that I will freeze to make bread crumbs later. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This bread is really good...I am now on my second loaf! When I have a lot of time, I make a poolish with 1 cup of water, 1 cup of flour, and 1/2 tsp of yeast and let in bubble for an hour or two before continuing with recipe....be sure to subtract what you use from recipe when continuing. It adds a lot of complexity for any bread recipe. I doubled the recipe to make one Pullman loaf for sandwich bread. It rises while baking a couple inches above the top, but not over the edge. I chopped sauerkraut fine, dried on paper towels, and used 3 TBS caraway seeds for my double recipe. I coated parchment lined pan with pam and sprinkled with corn meal for extra crunch and slashed the top lengthwise before putting in oven to bake for one hour. Easy pop out from parchment to cool. I use a thermometer to check doneness, which at 200', finishes with a crunchy crust and moist, but not wet inside. If you did not know sauerkraut was an ingredient, it is not really detectable, kind of like zucchini in zucchini bread for moisture. Makes a good all purpose bread for toast, any sandwich, and super Panini sandwiches. Only a two person household, so I pre slice, freeze first, and then vacuum seal in four packs, and it tastes like fresh. This recipe is definitely a regular in my bread cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I loved this bread. I think that I will not rinse the sauerkraut next time, I like the flavor and I added more flour. I don't know if that is because I didn't use a bread machine--but I need extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Really good bread! I did end up doubling the caraway and it was very flavorful and smelled delicious. I also LOVE sauerkraut so I drained the kraut and shortened my water by 1/4 cup and it came out very moist but not too moist. I really wanted to get as much kraut flavor as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yummy! I am really enjoying this bread, very nice and moist (quite dense though). I used less sugar and butter than called for and it still turned out really well and rose nicely. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for New Year's Day Dinner. I also used 2 tsp of caraway seeds. Turned out perfect! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Made this bread as directed and followed some suggestions, like the addition of cocoa powder. I did only use the tsp. of caraway seed to test it out first and it was plenty for us. Nice crust and dense texture. It did well in the bread machine, also. We are glad I tried this. Sauerkraut does need to be dried and chopped. Wonderful. Will make this again. Served it up with Amish butter, keilbasa, potatoes and baked apples. yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
We love this bread! The texture is wonderful, the flavor excellent. We did check the texture of the dough during the first kneading, as recommended by our bread machine's instructions, and needed to add about 1/2 Tablespoon more of bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Nice consistency, but very sour. Not a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Baked in machine - was not done in the middle. Also was a little too sweet and didn't have much of a rye taste. Not as moist as I had hoped. Just OK. Disappointed after the rave reviews from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States