Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This bread is really good...I am now on my second loaf! When I have a lot of time, I make a poolish with 1 cup of water, 1 cup of flour, and 1/2 tsp of yeast and let in bubble for an hour or two before continuing with recipe....be sure to subtract what you use from recipe when continuing. It adds a lot of complexity for any bread recipe. I doubled the recipe to make one Pullman loaf for sandwich bread. It rises while baking a couple inches above the top, but not over the edge. I chopped sauerkraut fine, dried on paper towels, and used 3 TBS caraway seeds for my double recipe. I coated parchment lined pan with pam and sprinkled with corn meal for extra crunch and slashed the top lengthwise before putting in oven to bake for one hour. Easy pop out from parchment to cool. I use a thermometer to check doneness, which at 200', finishes with a crunchy crust and moist, but not wet inside. If you did not know sauerkraut was an ingredient, it is not really detectable, kind of like zucchini in zucchini bread for moisture. Makes a good all purpose bread for toast, any sandwich, and super Panini sandwiches. Only a two person household, so I pre slice, freeze first, and then vacuum seal in four packs, and it tastes like fresh. This recipe is definitely a regular in my bread cycle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I loved this bread. I think that I will not rinse the sauerkraut next time, I like the flavor and I added more flour. I don't know if that is because I didn't use a bread machine--but I need extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Really good bread! I did end up doubling the caraway and it was very flavorful and smelled delicious. I also LOVE sauerkraut so I drained the kraut and shortened my water by 1/4 cup and it came out very moist but not too moist. I really wanted to get as much kraut flavor as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Yummy! I am really enjoying this bread, very nice and moist (quite dense though). I used less sugar and butter than called for and it still turned out really well and rose nicely. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I made this for New Year's Day Dinner. I also used 2 tsp of caraway seeds. Turned out perfect! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Made this bread as directed and followed some suggestions, like the addition of cocoa powder. I did only use the tsp. of caraway seed to test it out first and it was plenty for us. Nice crust and dense texture. It did well in the bread machine, also. We are glad I tried this. Sauerkraut does need to be dried and chopped. Wonderful. Will make this again. Served it up with Amish butter, keilbasa, potatoes and baked apples. yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
We love this bread! The texture is wonderful, the flavor excellent. We did check the texture of the dough during the first kneading, as recommended by our bread machine's instructions, and needed to add about 1/2 Tablespoon more of bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Nice consistency, but very sour. Not a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Baked in machine - was not done in the middle. Also was a little too sweet and didn't have much of a rye taste. Not as moist as I had hoped. Just OK. Disappointed after the rave reviews from others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TWEETIE147
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was a very most bread. At first I tought i messed it up but it came out wonderful. I love it. I made it into a bowl and filled it with the Hot Ham and Swiss Dip from this site. I did change a couple of things first i add cornbeef to the bread mixture so it is just like a ruben sandwich. then i used cornbeef in the dip. Both are very good will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States