Sauerkraut Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
If there's one thing I can't stand on hotdogs, it's store-bought relish. Yuck! But THIS relish is to die for!!!! Soooo yummy! Outstanding on hotdogs and brats, but also makes a great summer salad for any kind of grilled meat. Thank you so much for this recipe! It's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I should have doubled the recipe. I made it as the recipe said but once we had tried it, it was so good, I knew I should have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great! Even people that dont normally like sauerkraut liked this. Including me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My version uses a hot bacon dressing (using only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar) poured over the top of the sauerkraut and peppers. My daughter eats it straight from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this on brats and burgers! But, I think it scared ;my guests who mostly passed over it b/c I think they weren't sure what it was even though I tried to tell most of them. Those who did have it liked it. Not very appealing to look at, but then again most sauerkraut isn't! Worth a try if you're looking for something extra for the bbq spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Love this recipe. When I serve it some top their hot dogs, brats, or burgers while others eat it as a side dish. I use about a 1/2 cup of sugar and if I feel it is too tart/sour before serving I just add more sugar. I've also substitured sweetner for the sugar. It lasts for weeks in the refrigerator just like pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Very good relish recipe, esp. for topping on brats...however, you do NOT NEED the amount of sugar that the recipe states...I used 1/3 c. of sugar instead, and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I made this for a family cookout this weekend and everyone liked it. The only change I made was to cut down on the sugar since most of us don't like sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is a great tasting recipe. You can eat the Sauerkraut on a bratwurst or just eat it on the side as a salad. Very pretty to look at too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States