Sauerkraut Onion Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is a good recipe but DOES NOT make a 1 1/2 lb loaf. It makes a 2 lb loaf. In many bread machines, you need to pre-set the loaf size or it won't bake correctly. So, if using a bread machine, be aware that this is a 2 lb recipe. Also, in my opinion, the onion salt isn't necessary. 1 to 1 1/4 teaspons of regular salt works fine. The chopped fresh onion will provide plenty of onion flavor. If you have gluten on hand, a tablespoon or two will improve the rise and texture. If using all purpose flour instead of bread flour, you'll definitely need to add at least 2 tablespoons of gluten. I'd recommend 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Really tasty bread. We loved it. It didn't rise as much as I would have expected; not sure if I did something wrong, but it tasted very very good. House smelled heavenly when it was baking. Will definitely make this one again. You'd never know it had sauerkraut in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
So far I think the bread is very tasty. I've only tried a small piece because I've eaten far too much today but so far so good! I do not have a bread machine so I did it by hand using buttermilk instead of regular milk, butter instead of margarine, did not rinse the sauerkraut, and 2 t of active dry yeast which I proofed in the warmed buttermilk. I didn't end up using the entire 2 1/4 cups of bread flour either. I did not chop the sauerkraut but left it as is. I'm not sure what I'll do with this as it is obviously not a toast and jam type of bread but it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Lovely! A very nice savory bread with a nice texture. Didn't rince the saurkraut, though I drained it well and substituted butter for margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This coarse textured bread is delicious! Smells of sauerkraut, onion and caraway all form a pleasant aroma. I made this by hand, so I baked it at 375 for about 35 minutes. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I prefer (and enjoy) making bread the old-school way, so I didn’t use a bread maker for this recipe. It was delicious! I used a little bit more sauerkraut and onion than called for (I wanted to use up what I had) and I found the flavors quite complementing. This bread was perfect for sopping up the meatball stew I served it with! Thanks, Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu loves to cook!
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
great bread! I made it in the machine: it really is amazing, the taste is unique and nobody could tell the sauerkraut at all. Don't change a wink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Made this bread by hand, very flavorful, great toasted and spread with butter. Everyone commented on how hearty it was with the rye and how it made the entire house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This hearty bread is so flavorful. I wouldn't change a thing! I've made it by hand also and my whole family loves it; a great accompaniment for stew. An excellent choice for making rhuben sandwiches:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States