Sauerkraut Filling for Pierogi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is DELICIOUS!!! I got rave reviews. I also love the addition of the sour cream...gives it a nice texture without too much moisture. A very nice change from the standard potato filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Love this filling!! When I told my daughter what was in the filling, she said 'not sure about the mushrooms', but guess who ate most of them?!!!!! A keeper! I also used the filling in a calzone and it was even more amazing!! (added 2 cups mashed potato to the mix to make it go farther)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used my home made sauerkraut and I added bacon. Plus cooked everything in the bacon pan. Great. I doubled this recipe and only had a little too much for the "Grandmas polish perogies" recipe on this site. I would have ran out had I not doubled this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This filling is just perfect. I followed the recipe exactly. I used this filling in Grandma's Polish Perogies recipe from this site. The filling was exactly the amount I needed to fill the dough cut outs. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very tasty on its own! This filling makes a delicious quick, light meal. I did not actually make pierogies with it. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will add a lot more mushrooms, just because I like them. I will also try this with sour cream, as I didn't have any. I subbed it for a smidge of cream cheese and it still tasted great. I have a very Ukrainian/Polish step family, and I grew up eating pirogies. I love sauerkraut and mushroom pirogies but they are not exactly health food. This recipe is great on its own, as you can enjoy the great flavors while not having to feel guilty about the carbs and fat. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will add a lot more mushrooms, just because I like them. I will also try this with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
My husband loved this filling for pierogi. I made it as written except I didn't have any mushrooms on hand, he still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blencoe, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This filling is delicious! Used crimini mushrooms and omitted the sour cream (not a fan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
add bacon!!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These were AWESOME!!! I love sauerkraut and just had to try these. 1/4 of the pierogis I boiled then fried and 1/4 of them I just fried. Hubby liked the boiled one but I liked just fried. I used a sour cream, lemon juice, garlic powder, onion powder, and dill weed dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Delicious! My new favorite Pierogi filling! I omitted the mushrooms, but otherwise made as written. The sour cream gave it a nice tang. I'm so glad to have found another great recipe that highlights sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States