Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Very different and excellent. We doubled the recipe and loved it! Recommend cutting down on the pepper (about half would do).Will make believers out of people who don't even like sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
I tried this recipe and loved the flavor, however think it would be greatly improved by reducing the amount of pepper in it. Could 1 tablespoon be correct? Seems like 1 teaspoon should be more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
I substituted the bacon with 1 lb of Poska Kielbasa cut into bite size, browned and drained. I also cut the pepper back to 1/2 a tablespoon and will use a little less next time - a bit too hot for my taste. It is a wonderful change to the usual sausage and kraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I loved it and it was the rave for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Pretty good. It was very sweet, which my husband liked but I liked less so. Unfortunately even all the sugar didn't get my kids to like it. I cut the pepper down to 1 teaspoon and it was still peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I finally found a way to tolerate saurkraut. I did what the other reviewer mentioned about adding kielbasi. It is sweet but I liked it b/c the whole reason I don't like saurkraut is the bitterness. My three guests enjoyed it and took some home. Do not use the whole teaspoon of pepper. Perhaps a half would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
I was certain I'd like this recipe, since I (and my family) love sauerkraut. It sounded somewhat like the Kielbasa, sauerkraut and apples I make so I thought I'd give it a shot. But this was just sort-of gross -- greasy and oddly both too sweet and too tart at the same time. I've always found the secret to cooking with sauerkraut is draining and rinsing it before cooking, but I didn't do that this time because the recipe didn't call for it. Maybe it would have turned out better if I had. Maybe not. It probably still would have been far too sweet. The next day I doused it with chicken stock and made soup out of it and we were able to finish it off. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe. I often take this when we're invited to friends for a barbque. The Slowcooker Sauerkraut and Sausage recipe on this site is another favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Because I didn't have tomatoes, I used a 14oz. can of tomato sauce. Cut the sugar to 3/4 cup (next time I'll try 2/3) as it was still very sweet. Used crisp bacon leftover from breakfast and cut the pepper to 1/2 teaspoon. It was still peppery. Even after all these changes it was still good and it carmelized after the two hours. We liked it and would make again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This is a very tasty and interesting dish. I used brown sugar instead of white, and a can of stewed tomatoes. I drained the kraut and tomatoes also. It turned out great! This is perfect with grilled metwurst and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsurfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States