Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a good recipe but a little too sweet even for me. I love sweet and savory dishes- so next time I will at least half the sugar if not more. I can't eat tomatoes so I left them out and added chopped onion and polska kielbasa. Other than being a little too sweet- it cooked well and there was not a hint of bitterness to the kraut. I'll make it again for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This casserole was a New Year's Day hit with our family After reading all the pepper cautions, I opted for a 1/2 tsp and this was perfect. I also did 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar which was also perfect. Used diced tomatoes and packaged read bacon bits for convenience. My husband put the leftovers on a hot dog the next day and loved it. Thanks for a great recipe to use on New Year's Day meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. The only difference is it calls for a 14 oz. CAN of diced tomatoes, undrained. I do slightly drain the kraut - otherwise it's too wet. It's fantastic with thick sliced applewood smoked bacon. I mix in about half of the bacon & use the rest to layer on top, which results in a nicely crisped top. Baking in a large, shallow, uncovered casserole is important to get the correct texture. It comes out salty/sweet/sour & silky from the bacon fat. I have never cut back the sugar because the dish is not supposed to be "sour". I love the sweetness! My hubby will eat this even though he won't go near regular kraut. It is a perfect accompaniment to a salty ham or any pork dish. It goes well with southern dishes like black-eyed peas, greens, cornbread, etc. I make it every year for New Year's dinner. It's always well received by guests, even those who claim to not like sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was good with a few adjustments. Per other reviews I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup. Will cut it to 1/4th next time. I also added left over pork roast. Meat was wonderfully tender and flavorful. Did enjoy the casserole...but it was still a little to sweet with the 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
very interesting flavor -- very tasty! Unfortunately, mine turned out a bit greasy, which is the only reason for the 4-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and I've made these adjustments...First, I crisp the bacon and drain it, so the dish isn't so greasy, then I cut the sugar WAY back to 1/4 of a cup. In a pinch, I used an apple instead of a tomato and it was PERFECT. For a full meal, I also chop up sausage and mix in with the kraut/apple mixture. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I doubled this recipe and cut the pepper and sugar in half like the other reviews said. I sitll couldn't get past the fact that it was sauerkraut (I'm not a fan), but everyone else said it was great and my husband said to try cutting the sugar back even further - he prefers sour to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was an extremely easy recipe to make AND my family enjoyed eating it. We ate it as amiddle-of-the-week main dish with potatoes. I used bacon blocks instead of bacon strips and cut down on the amount of sugar (when I was measuring it out, I was shocked at the amount I'd be putting into the food). Even using 1/3 the amount of sugar recommended, the caramalization was just as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was fabulous! My husband, who claimed to not like sauerkraut, loved it. I did not rinse the sauerkraut and cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Sorry, we didn't enjoy this. It was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States