Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a good recipe but a little too sweet even for me. I love sweet and savory dishes- so next time I will at least half the sugar if not more. I can't eat tomatoes so I left them out and added chopped onion and polska kielbasa. Other than being a little too sweet- it cooked well and there was not a hint of bitterness to the kraut. I'll make it again for an easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This casserole was a New Year's Day hit with our family After reading all the pepper cautions, I opted for a 1/2 tsp and this was perfect. I also did 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar which was also perfect. Used diced tomatoes and packaged read bacon bits for convenience. My husband put the leftovers on a hot dog the next day and loved it. Thanks for a great recipe to use on New Year's Day meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. The only difference is it calls for a 14 oz. CAN of diced tomatoes, undrained. I do slightly drain the kraut - otherwise it's too wet. It's fantastic with thick sliced applewood smoked bacon. I mix in about half of the bacon & use the rest to layer on top, which results in a nicely crisped top. Baking in a large, shallow, uncovered casserole is important to get the correct texture. It comes out salty/sweet/sour & silky from the bacon fat. I have never cut back the sugar because the dish is not supposed to be "sour". I love the sweetness! My hubby will eat this even though he won't go near regular kraut. It is a perfect accompaniment to a salty ham or any pork dish. It goes well with southern dishes like black-eyed peas, greens, cornbread, etc. I make it every year for New Year's dinner. It's always well received by guests, even those who claim to not like sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was good with a few adjustments. Per other reviews I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup. Will cut it to 1/4th next time. I also added left over pork roast. Meat was wonderfully tender and flavorful. Did enjoy the casserole...but it was still a little to sweet with the 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
very interesting flavor -- very tasty! Unfortunately, mine turned out a bit greasy, which is the only reason for the 4-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and I've made these adjustments...First, I crisp the bacon and drain it, so the dish isn't so greasy, then I cut the sugar WAY back to 1/4 of a cup. In a pinch, I used an apple instead of a tomato and it was PERFECT. For a full meal, I also chop up sausage and mix in with the kraut/apple mixture. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I doubled this recipe and cut the pepper and sugar in half like the other reviews said. I sitll couldn't get past the fact that it was sauerkraut (I'm not a fan), but everyone else said it was great and my husband said to try cutting the sugar back even further - he prefers sour to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was an extremely easy recipe to make AND my family enjoyed eating it. We ate it as amiddle-of-the-week main dish with potatoes. I used bacon blocks instead of bacon strips and cut down on the amount of sugar (when I was measuring it out, I was shocked at the amount I'd be putting into the food). Even using 1/3 the amount of sugar recommended, the caramalization was just as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was fabulous! My husband, who claimed to not like sauerkraut, loved it. I did not rinse the sauerkraut and cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Sorry, we didn't enjoy this. It was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States