Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is my favorite go-to recipe for potlucks! Everyone loves it and there are never leftovers to bring home. Just as a matter of taste, i use about 1/2 the sugar. If there are going to be kids, i cut back on the pepper too. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLPN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I loved this recipe, except for one thing. The sugar was way to much. I cut it in half and it was perfect. if not for that it would be five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peebles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was very good. I wasn't sure how the tomato would be, the flavors blended nicely. Instead of doing this in the oven I threw a center cut pork loin roast in the bottom of my slow cooker & threw the sauerkraut mixture on top and let it cook all day. I drained/rinsed the kraut, I used brown sugar instead of white and cut back some on the amount. The bacon just kind of cooks into the sauerkraut and pretty much disappeared. I also cut way back on the pepper. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This didn't turn out very good for me. I followed exactly, except I cooked the bacon first as I wasn't sure if it should be or not. It turned out quite dry. Maybe the uncooked bacon would have added some fat to the dish. I'd try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Battle Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We had this tonight with our meal and loved it! I only changed the pepper amount. I just sprinkled a little bit and stirred it in, the hubby is sensitive to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Burgin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
None of the six members of my family cared for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I like my sauerkraut sour and this made it sweet. It just wasn't for me but my husband who is Dutch and grew up with sauerkraut in all kinds of ways loved it so I guess it's up to the individual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was OK. I used kielbasa browned and drained instead of bacon. I enjoyed the sweet/sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Terrible - to strong on the pepper and I put less than the ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was great!! I was looking for a sauerkraut recipe for New Year's and will definitely be making this again. I did like some of the other reviewers did and used real bacon bits ( I think it may save some calories)and reduced the black pepper. I used Splenda instead of sugar and reduced the calories considerably. The taste was fantastic. I did drain the kraut as some of the others had suggested but may leave a little bit in the next time. My husband commented that it looked a little different when I was serving it(because of the tomatoes) but was wowed when he tasted it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States