Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I didn't realize this was an Ohio thing either! haha I've made several variations of these as the basic recipe is very adaptable. Ground ham and ground sausage are what made me look this recipe up again. I prefer to bake these at 375 for 20 minutes. Try adding a bit of cream cheese to the mix to help it stick together. I don't use the full 1/2 c of broth either(Jalapenos never hurt anything either.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kindle Cheney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Hmmmm....followed the recipe exactly, fried up a few and found them lacking a taste I wanted, so added 1/4 c grated Parmesan to the rest (everything's better with cheese, right?) - an improvement, but still just ok; then added some crumbled crisp bacon (bacon is always an improvement) - no help. I tried several of the suggestions offered here - batter, no batter, seasoned/cheese breadcrumbs instead of plain....they were just ok to me and mine. Lots of work and lots of calories for a so-so appetizer. It's probably just a personal taste thing. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lourdes
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I made this last week for my husband and he loves it!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This brought back memories of growing up in Cleveland! I reduced the amount f flour because I cheese-cloth drained the sauerkraut (that I brought back from Bavaria!). I added ground pepper, too. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
All of my co-workers and I agreed: much better served chilled the next day instead of warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I had never heard of these. I am a huge sauerkraut fan and gave them a shot. I made some homemade 1000 Island dipping sauce. What can I say? These redefine the word awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made these for Christmas and everyone loved them. The recipe is time consuming, but maybe the next time i will make the mixture and shape the balls the day before. I had to pour the batter onto a plate and gently roll the ball around, as they are delicate and break apart when dipping into a bowl. Great flavor, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Outstanding! I skipped the batter as one reviewer suggested and did a traditional flour coating, egg dip, and toss in Panko crumbs. Served them at a ladies Book Club and everyone gave a big thumbs up! A bit labor intensive, but I made a batch and froze them ahead of time and that did the trick to save last minute prep. Oh, and I also served them with a side of Thousand Island dressing as one reviewer suggested - super yummy! Being a CA native, I had never heard of anything like these (nor my friends or family) and so now I am a big hit with the party crowd! It's my understanding that these are common in Ohio - so Hail to the Midwest for another crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great sauerkraut balls!!! I've made this exact recipe several times, this time I used panko breadcrumbs because that was all I had. I wasn't sure how they would turn out but they were great, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'm another Ohio native that found himself missing these when I moved to Missouri. This is the best recipe I have tried. My dipping sauce (Horseradish Parsley Russian dressing) 1/2 c. Miracle whip 3 Tbls. Ketchup 2 Tbls. Sweet pickle relish 1 Tbls. Prepared horseradish Chopped parsley leaves I also use this dressing on my Reuben sandwiches with Dubliner cheese instead of Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Boudin Balls

See how to make a crispy, meaty appetizer for game day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States