Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I grew up in Northeastern Ohio, and always loved sauerkraut balls, especially the ones I had in the bars when I was at Kent State University. I made these for a small Super Bowl party. We dunked in either Thousand Island salad dressing or horseradish sauce. I also served Reuben sandwiches and beer. What a great combo! I only wish I'd invited more guests, because we all ate too much! My husband, also a KSU alum, LOVED these. Our guests (not from Ohio) thought they were delicious. I followed this recipe to the letter, and it worked perfectly. I must say, it was helpful having one of my guests helping. She rolled the balls; I dipped and tended the fryer. Do not be tempted to make the balls bigger to speed up the process. With the batter they just get too big for the finger food they should be. Thanks to NC State Trooper for bringing me a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This is a great recipe. You simply can't argue with "law." Try it soon! Great for football tv party mobs, or a comforting fall favorite. We will serve this often. (My nephew, 8, gobbled them up.) Partners great with cold beer. I also omitted the parsley and added caraway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I grew up in Cleveland area too and didn't realize that sauerkraut balls were really just known up there until telling a few friends that I hadn't them in years...of course I got the "what is a sauerkraut ball??" Made these for them and now they too are sold on them. Dipped them in 1000 island dressing and they were calling them little ruben balls. Thanks for a great and easy recipe! P.S. To save time, I skip the batter part and just roll each ball in egg and then dip in italian bread crumbs. Still just as yummy without all the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The references to Northeast Ohio are perfect ~ since I'm also from there. This is a very good recipe. I would caution you that it will take longer than the receipe says. They are a "Labor of Love". But you will never find a frozen sauerkraut ball as good. My regular recipe adds a bit more breadcrumb into the "ball". It gives it a bit more texture. If you have never tried these, you really should. Each person that has moved here and tries them becomes a lifetime fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
My family loved them. I couldn't make them fast enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I call these Rheuben balls! I made these for our X-mas party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Northeast Ohio here. Lyndhurst, Chesterland, Kent State. First had them in the 60's at a restaurant out on the way to Newbury. I didn't know they were local until I, too, found this recipe. Thanks a million. yum yum yummy yum yum! PS live in TX Hill Country now. None down here even with all the German restaurants. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen W Kennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
great! this is the recipe i have been looking for...lost it years ago....thank you nc trooper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I have been searching for a sauerkraut ball recipe like the ones you can by everywhere in Cleveland OH, my hometown. Yours is the BEST ! Even better than the ones I remember, same idea, but much more flavor. And trust me, I tried several.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Ok, you know a recipe has to be good when unsuspecting and picky 4 year olds gobble them up. They had no idea they were eating sauerkraut and I'm not tellin'. Great use for leftover ham and wonderful with a good German beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States