Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This is a great recipe. You simply can't argue with "law." Try it soon! Great for football tv party mobs, or a comforting fall favorite. We will serve this often. (My nephew, 8, gobbled them up.) Partners great with cold beer. I also omitted the parsley and added caraway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
My family loved them. I couldn't make them fast enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I have been searching for a sauerkraut ball recipe like the ones you can by everywhere in Cleveland OH, my hometown. Yours is the BEST ! Even better than the ones I remember, same idea, but much more flavor. And trust me, I tried several.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I grew up in Cleveland area too and didn't realize that sauerkraut balls were really just known up there until telling a few friends that I hadn't them in years...of course I got the "what is a sauerkraut ball??" Made these for them and now they too are sold on them. Dipped them in 1000 island dressing and they were calling them little ruben balls. Thanks for a great and easy recipe! P.S. To save time, I skip the batter part and just roll each ball in egg and then dip in italian bread crumbs. Still just as yummy without all the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This stuff is great, friends call me up and request it and they dont even like Sauerkraut. A little bit labor intensive but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I grew up in Northeastern Ohio, and always loved sauerkraut balls, especially the ones I had in the bars when I was at Kent State University. I made these for a small Super Bowl party. We dunked in either Thousand Island salad dressing or horseradish sauce. I also served Reuben sandwiches and beer. What a great combo! I only wish I'd invited more guests, because we all ate too much! My husband, also a KSU alum, LOVED these. Our guests (not from Ohio) thought they were delicious. I followed this recipe to the letter, and it worked perfectly. I must say, it was helpful having one of my guests helping. She rolled the balls; I dipped and tended the fryer. Do not be tempted to make the balls bigger to speed up the process. With the batter they just get too big for the finger food they should be. Thanks to NC State Trooper for bringing me a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The references to Northeast Ohio are perfect ~ since I'm also from there. This is a very good recipe. I would caution you that it will take longer than the receipe says. They are a "Labor of Love". But you will never find a frozen sauerkraut ball as good. My regular recipe adds a bit more breadcrumb into the "ball". It gives it a bit more texture. If you have never tried these, you really should. Each person that has moved here and tries them becomes a lifetime fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Ok, you know a recipe has to be good when unsuspecting and picky 4 year olds gobble them up. They had no idea they were eating sauerkraut and I'm not tellin'. Great use for leftover ham and wonderful with a good German beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These turned out Great! I actually made one of the "Sauerkraut Salad" recipes and used the leftovers for this recipe. I also used some leftover ham and ground beef. I omitted the parsley and caraway seed, as the salad was already flavored. I ended up making mine into the size of golfballs and there were 36. I had a little bit of batter left and used plenty of bread crumbs to make these manageable. If you have a deep fryer with a basket, coating them thoroughly keeps them from sticking to the basket. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Northeast Ohio here. Lyndhurst, Chesterland, Kent State. First had them in the 60's at a restaurant out on the way to Newbury. I didn't know they were local until I, too, found this recipe. Thanks a million. yum yum yummy yum yum! PS live in TX Hill Country now. None down here even with all the German restaurants. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen W Kennedy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States