Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Does anyone know if these would freeze well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oliviahw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Great recipe.I added 1 1/2 tsp. sugar and a tsp. of salt to suit my taste but otherwise followed the recipe.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
YUM! We had ham and roast beef leftovers from Christmas dinner so I used them finely chopped up since we didn't have corned beef. I also used chicken stock instead of the beef broth but it still Turned out yummy! My 3 year old who is a picky eater loves them! She can't even tell there's sauerkraut in it (which the rest of the family loves). well definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
great! this is the recipe i have been looking for...lost it years ago....thank you nc trooper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Very Good! I've made these twice and they are a big hit! 2 comments, allow more time to prepare at the end, I find it takes about an hour to make the balls, dip them, and fry them. Secondly, there is too much batter left over. I cut the milk and flour by 1/3 and still have plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I call these Rheuben balls! I made these for our X-mas party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Northeast Ohio here. Lyndhurst, Chesterland, Kent State. First had them in the 60's at a restaurant out on the way to Newbury. I didn't know they were local until I, too, found this recipe. Thanks a million. yum yum yummy yum yum! PS live in TX Hill Country now. None down here even with all the German restaurants. Go figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These turned out Great! I actually made one of the "Sauerkraut Salad" recipes and used the leftovers for this recipe. I also used some leftover ham and ground beef. I omitted the parsley and caraway seed, as the salad was already flavored. I ended up making mine into the size of golfballs and there were 36. I had a little bit of batter left and used plenty of bread crumbs to make these manageable. If you have a deep fryer with a basket, coating them thoroughly keeps them from sticking to the basket. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Ok, you know a recipe has to be good when unsuspecting and picky 4 year olds gobble them up. They had no idea they were eating sauerkraut and I'm not tellin'. Great use for leftover ham and wonderful with a good German beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
The references to Northeast Ohio are perfect ~ since I'm also from there. This is a very good recipe. I would caution you that it will take longer than the receipe says. They are a "Labor of Love". But you will never find a frozen sauerkraut ball as good. My regular recipe adds a bit more breadcrumb into the "ball". It gives it a bit more texture. If you have never tried these, you really should. Each person that has moved here and tries them becomes a lifetime fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States