Sauerbraten Klopse (Sauerbraten Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Excellent!Had go use fresh ginger because I was out of ground. Will make again with onions and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I made these and we loved them!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
OMG....this was wonderful!!! Just like my mother use to make it. A slice of German heaven! My boyfriend even liked it. I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
For the most part I followed the recipe as written. The only difference is that I sauteed the onions first and added an egg to the mixture. In the sauce I used crushed ginger snaps instead of flour as a thickener. The second time I made this I also added 1/3 cup of sour cream to the sauce which made it smoother. I also tried apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. Everyone loves thes meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Really good! My family, including the toddlers, liked it- only problem I had was getting the flour/water mixture fully incorporated, but it didn't effect the taste. I also left out the cloves because I don't care for them- plus I didn't have any. So, I added extra allspice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Wonderful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I usually double the cooking liquid because we like more gravy. Like my Grandmother's sauerbraten recipe, I add 7 whole cloves, 7 whole peppercorn, 7 whole allspice along with the bay leaves to cook and thicken the gravy with finely crushed ginger snaps not the flour.I remove the whole seasonings with a slotted spoon before serving. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This is so delicious and will be my go to recipe for an easy fix when we're craving german food. I made a couple of minor changes I think improved the recipe, adding an egg to the meat/milk mixture. also added a teaspoon of beef base to the liquid mix before thickening the gravy. increased flour to 1/8 cup mixing in 1/2 cup cold water, making a thinner flour mixture to mix with the hot liquid. added chopped fresh parsley for color before serving. the egg gave the meatballs a very tender texture and the beef base enriched the flavor of the gravy. served it all with mashed red potatoes, sweet and sour red cabbage, steamed green beans and applesauce. thanks so much for an easy german food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I doubled the sauce, because we like things saucy around here, and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States