Sauerbraten Klopse (Sauerbraten Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The meatballs tasted pretty good....but the gravy needs some improvment.I'm from Germany and it does not taste like any Sauerbraten I have ever had....but it's worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
We were not impressed with this recipe; the meatballs were much too sweet; maybe if the brown sugar was cut in half it would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
very yummy. I substituted cloves with chili and it was superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was great-the only thing was mine were a little dry and I think that's because I added an egg to hold them together and I used gr. sirloin instead of hamb. Recipe called for 2 TB of water & 2TB of flour to thicken, that was like paste so I only used a drop. Next time I will use reg. hamb and bake and use the gingersnaps to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
No one in our family really liked these much. But it may be because we were surprised by how sour they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
YUM! My changes: Step 2. Instead of just draining the fat, I moved the meatballs to a cookie sheet lined w/ paper towels & blotted them dry. I also wiped all excess oil from the pan. Step 3. I just boiled down the sauce at the end instead of adding flour. Served over store bought spaetzle with red cabbage & saurkraut. Thank you for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I've never had sauerbraten or anything similar, but this meatball recipe beckoned to me from among the others. Maybe it was the German...I'm not sure. But...WOW! I loved these! I made them tonight for dinner as a good friend of mine and her boyfriend came over. I followed the advice of another reviewer and thickened the gravy with gingersnap crumbs, which sounded a bit odd to me, but gave the gravy a delicious flavor. Yum. Sweet yet still tangy. I think I'm in love. And if I was a man, I'd ask you to marry me, Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I was just looking for an alternate meatball recipe to my usual....this was good and really has that German taste to it. Not all around fabulous, because of the uniqueness of the allspice/clove flavor but a 4 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Tasty but a bit too much vinegar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Yummy, yummy, yummy!!!!!!!! This was really awesome! I didn't have any brown sugar, so I used 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead. What an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States