Sauerbraten Klopse (Sauerbraten Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
While the meatballs themselves were awesome, the sauce was too sweet...I think the next time I will tone down on the brown sugar. I did follow other reviewers suggestions and baked the meatballs instead of pan frying. I too had problems getting the flour to break up for the gravy...something I will figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Freakin awesome!!!!Follow the directions. I made more so just tripled everything. I am so proud. Of course you need to drink beer while you are making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cullowhee, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Why would you put bread crumbs with Italian seasonings in a German dish? This recipe is awesome and doesn't need tweaked AT ALL! Thank you for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The recipe was very good - it definitely had the sauerbraten taste I remember from my grandma's kitchen. I made the recipe exactly as written - except I might have left them simmering a bit longer as I finished the German Spaetzle Dumplings recipe also from this site to go with the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I really LOVE German food (I'm German myself), but didn't care for these at all. The meatballs were bland and crumbled when I browned them (not completely, but many of mine cracked). I think the meat mixture needed more liquid. I also had problems with the sauce as others did. Mine wouldn't thicken with flour, so I added some crushed gingersnaps per other reviewers suggestions (don't remember how much - I just kept adding until the sauce appeared to thicken), but it then clumped. The recipe didn't yield much sauce either (and I like to pour a LOT of gravy over my meatballs). I guess I was also disappointed b/c I couldn't find spatzel in the grocery store, so I had to serve these with potato dumplings instead. No fault of Christine's, just bad luck all around. Thanks anyways. I'm sure you're a wonderful cook. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very very good! My husband and I really enjoyed these a lot and we'll definitely eat these again. My hubby thought they could have been more tart/sour. My son didn't care for these although he ate anyway, he gave this 2 stars. I messed up the gravy when I added the flour/water slurry it clumped immediately and the gravy was lumpy, so I strained it and just poured it over the meatballs although it was on the thin side. I served this with egg noodles, sauerkraut, and sauteed apples. Great meal, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
These are *wonderful*!! Thank you! As usual I had to change some ingredients - Italian bread crumbs, fresh ground ginger instead of powder, corn starch instead of flour, and I used ground sirloin. As for preparation, I drained the meatballs after cooking them and while they sat, I mixed up the liquids in a separate bowl, then added them to the hot skillet to remove the tasty "brown bits" from the pan. I had no problems with the thickener. I just substitued equal parts corn starch for flour (I don't like using flour). I did heat up the liquid to boiling after removing the meat - perhaps that was the issue for many reviewers. I knew a "simmered" sauce wouldn't thicken - this did right away. It's a *perfect* mix of sweet, spicy, and sour! I served this over spatzle noodles with [frozen] sauerkraut on the side - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
The meatballs tasted pretty good, but the "gravy" was just strange, it tasted like bay leaf flavored sugar. I would make the meatballs again, but I ended up making my own garlic white sauce, I would not make the gravy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
We really enjoyed these, everything was going perfect until I added the flour/water mixture, it didn't seem to break down like it should. I consider myself a "sauce queen" and sort of expected trouble from thickening the sauce that way. Maybe the temp wasn't high enough; anyway this recipe is well worth the trouble to figure out a minor detail like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I prepared this dish for an Oktoberfest celebration we had at work and received loads of complements (served with kluski noodles). I set aside enough for dinner for my family...my husband and I loved it but it was not my picky 11 year old's idea of meatballs. I will make this again for a party but not for dinner at home, it was a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States