Sauerbraten Klopse (Sauerbraten Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
While the meatballs themselves were awesome, the sauce was too sweet...I think the next time I will tone down on the brown sugar. I did follow other reviewers suggestions and baked the meatballs instead of pan frying. I too had problems getting the flour to break up for the gravy...something I will figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Freakin awesome!!!!Follow the directions. I made more so just tripled everything. I am so proud. Of course you need to drink beer while you are making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cullowhee, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Why would you put bread crumbs with Italian seasonings in a German dish? This recipe is awesome and doesn't need tweaked AT ALL! Thank you for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
The recipe was very good - it definitely had the sauerbraten taste I remember from my grandma's kitchen. I made the recipe exactly as written - except I might have left them simmering a bit longer as I finished the German Spaetzle Dumplings recipe also from this site to go with the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I really LOVE German food (I'm German myself), but didn't care for these at all. The meatballs were bland and crumbled when I browned them (not completely, but many of mine cracked). I think the meat mixture needed more liquid. I also had problems with the sauce as others did. Mine wouldn't thicken with flour, so I added some crushed gingersnaps per other reviewers suggestions (don't remember how much - I just kept adding until the sauce appeared to thicken), but it then clumped. The recipe didn't yield much sauce either (and I like to pour a LOT of gravy over my meatballs). I guess I was also disappointed b/c I couldn't find spatzel in the grocery store, so I had to serve these with potato dumplings instead. No fault of Christine's, just bad luck all around. Thanks anyways. I'm sure you're a wonderful cook. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very very good! My husband and I really enjoyed these a lot and we'll definitely eat these again. My hubby thought they could have been more tart/sour. My son didn't care for these although he ate anyway, he gave this 2 stars. I messed up the gravy when I added the flour/water slurry it clumped immediately and the gravy was lumpy, so I strained it and just poured it over the meatballs although it was on the thin side. I served this with egg noodles, sauerkraut, and sauteed apples. Great meal, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
These are *wonderful*!! Thank you! As usual I had to change some ingredients - Italian bread crumbs, fresh ground ginger instead of powder, corn starch instead of flour, and I used ground sirloin. As for preparation, I drained the meatballs after cooking them and while they sat, I mixed up the liquids in a separate bowl, then added them to the hot skillet to remove the tasty "brown bits" from the pan. I had no problems with the thickener. I just substitued equal parts corn starch for flour (I don't like using flour). I did heat up the liquid to boiling after removing the meat - perhaps that was the issue for many reviewers. I knew a "simmered" sauce wouldn't thicken - this did right away. It's a *perfect* mix of sweet, spicy, and sour! I served this over spatzle noodles with [frozen] sauerkraut on the side - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
The meatballs tasted pretty good, but the "gravy" was just strange, it tasted like bay leaf flavored sugar. I would make the meatballs again, but I ended up making my own garlic white sauce, I would not make the gravy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
We really enjoyed these, everything was going perfect until I added the flour/water mixture, it didn't seem to break down like it should. I consider myself a "sauce queen" and sort of expected trouble from thickening the sauce that way. Maybe the temp wasn't high enough; anyway this recipe is well worth the trouble to figure out a minor detail like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I prepared this dish for an Oktoberfest celebration we had at work and received loads of complements (served with kluski noodles). I set aside enough for dinner for my family...my husband and I loved it but it was not my picky 11 year old's idea of meatballs. I will make this again for a party but not for dinner at home, it was a bit time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States