Sauerbraten Klopse (Sauerbraten Meatballs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Perfectly sweet and sour. Prepared recipe as directed. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakethebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My boyfriend and I didn't care for these at all. The meatballs themselves were tasty in a unique way, but the sauce had a really odd flavor, strong in vinegar and not much else. Perhaps I'm just not used to German cuisine, but either way, I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambitionbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Amazing...I impressed my German husband and can't wait to cook this for his mother when she visits us from Germany. My husband was a little thrown off at first because it was made with ground beef but once he tried it, he said it was "impressing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmommymel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very bland recipe. the meatballs were very firm. I usually add and egg the ground beef mixture to lighten them up. The sauce did not have alot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
the meat balls were a little dry when i cooked them and for me it didnt produce enough sauce but i over do it when it comes to smothering my food in something, my husband is a very picky eater and loved it and so did i, my 16 month old boy even ate it, very good and great tasting, the dryness is most likey my fault but
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I really liked the concept of this recipe but being that I make sauerbraten all the time, I knew I would have to change this up. My mom was born in Germany, taught me how to make it and our version doesn't use allspice, ginger or cloves. Instead I seasoned the meat with garlic and onion powders salt and pepper and caraway seeds and minced onion. I did brown the meatballs as the recipe stated to get those flavorful caramelized bits on the bottom of the pan. Once browned I added more minced onion to the pan and then sprinkled in flour to make a roux. One cup of liquid was definitely not enough to make gravy so I used an entire box of beef stock. I didn't measure but slowly added in the sugar and vinegar until I was happy with the balance of slightly sweet and sour. The gravy was again seasoned and made richer with some Gravy Master and a dollop of sour cream to smooth it all out. The end result was very good and I thank you for a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Terrific! My family was a bit concerned about the sweet sour combo but all decided it worked. I served it to my German father and he thought it tasted very authentic. Ok - he would say that anyway but I did tweak it a bit and added an egg and extra bread crumbs. The sauce is easy to make and it you are in a hurry... it is great over pre-made meatless meatballs too. I like to cut back on the red meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StoveTopMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These sounded good and smelled wonderful cooking. But once we started eating, it was different. I will say the meatballs were good but the sauce was overpowering and my kids 15 and 9) gave it a thumb's down. I wish they had been better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ardmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
We found these to be way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These were very good! I doubled the amount of cloves and allspice, baked the meatballs (425 for 15 minutes) and thickened the sauce with crushed gingersnaps. Served over egg noodles. Hubby didn't care for this meal, but he is hard to please. I thought it was great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States