Sauerbraten IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Left out the gingersnaps. I did not alter anything else. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I had a TON of compliments on this recipe from authentic German-born attendees during our annual Oktoberfest party. It was super easy prep and cooking was a breeze. Truly a recipe I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My father was German and made this dish alot. This recipe is as close to his as it could get, except add 1 lemon (sliced) into the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Now this is some sour sauerbraten! The best I have ever made. I wanted to serve this during the week, and I work full time, so after marinating I cooked it for 3 hours the night before I planned on serving it. The next day, since it had cooled, it was easy to skim off the fat. Then I just reheated it on the stove, and made the gravy. Easy and quicker this way. Served over egg noodles. I suggest serving this with some rye bread, you will need to cut the sour with something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Marinated 3 days using ziptop bag. Used 1 large onion. Used the crockpot for the beef-cooking part, made the gravy in a skillet and added back to the crockpot. Definitely include the gingersnaps. I used 12 smallish ones smashed to make 2/3 cup. It is still tart even for sauerbraten with the addition of 2 more Tbsp sugar which made it about right for us and brought it to a 4+. If I would have cooked it 4-5 hours on low that would have been enough. Served with spaetzle, applesauce, and sweet and sour red cabbage. Used the crockpot for the beef-cooking part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is more authentic than the recipes with sugar added, which are sweet and sour. Not that they are not good, just that for authenticity, you don't want to add so much sugar. It is by definition supposed to have a tang. Three days is at the low end of how long it should marinate and after cooking, the 4 lb roast will not feed 8 hungry folks. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This turned out great! I actually used my crockpot and had such tender meat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I made this for an Oktoberfest party. My husband is German and I was worried, when he came in the house and said it smells like Deutchland! I knew I was on my way, but then everyone arrived and it was gone in a flash, and my friends have already requested I make it again real soon. I cooked mine in a slow cooker for 4 hours on low and it was terrific! The only complaint was there wasn't enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Delicious. I cooked it for about 2 hours then added the gingersnaps and sliced the beef and added it back into the sauce. Cooked it for another hour. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Sinai, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe is EXACTLY what I had hoped it to be. I have had sauerbraten at quite a few very nice restaurants but this recipe tastes exactly like my favorite restaurant! I am so, so happy with it. I did use the gingersnaps and I am glad that I did. I was skeptical at first but it did a great job of thickening up the sauce. Who knew! Even though this was a lot of work, it was worth it. I am so excited to be able to eat one of my favorite meals more often and at a fraction of the price! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States