Sauerbraten III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My parents were born and raised in Southern Germany, and this is very close to the way my mother makes Sauerbraten. She adds juniper berries, removed after meat has marinated, and you MUST marinate the meat for at least 3 days, and it's better if you marinate for 4 or 5 days. She does not add tomato wedges either. After removing the bay leaves, cloves, and juniper berries, she thickens the gravy, then strains it through a fine sieve, mashing the onions through the sieve to add body to the gravy (I think she uses 2 or 3 onions, too). Her Sauerbraten is the best I've ever had, and I've never met its match (I haven't been able to completely re-create it either). The purpose of the marinade is to make a tough cut of meat tender and palatable. Other recipes suggest adding gingersnaps, raisins, or sugar, sweeteners being a common thing for Northern Germans, but I've never cared for that version of Sauerbraten. The recipe is great as is, but try my suggested additions/changes and see if you like it better the way my German mother makes Sauerbraten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corinaesq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I accidently used white cooking wine instead of vinegar still tasted good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eric

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was not to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was so good Lou said he thought he was going to lick his brains out. I only used one TBL Salt and it was plenty for the recipe. I made the Spaetzl recipe on this site and my, oh my what a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I am originally from Southern Germany and in my area (around Stuttgart) this is our national dish. It is not like the typical German Sauerbraten found in American "German" restaurants. The Sauerbraten III recipe gets close to what I know, except: we marinate for 3 to 5 days, turning over the meat every night; at the end, before serving, we add a 1/4 cup of heavy cream (or 1/2 cup of evap milk, or a several tablespoons of sour cream). That's what you get in Southern Germany and Austria when you order Sauerbraten. Once you try it, you will forever love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Will not be making this again. Marinated for 48 hours and it was still pretty bland, did not have any of the sour taste that I love in Sauerbraten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I used a pork roast for this recipe and it turned out really well. My parents came over to eat and they really enjoyed it. I think it was falvorful and tasted a lot like what I've had in restaurants. Next time I might add more cloves because I like the taste they give. I served this dish with spaetzel noodles (instant), sauerkraut balls and potato pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
My husband really liked this (and so did the kids!). Very moist and flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This is fantastic...almost like my Mom's, who is of German descent. Even my brother and sister thought it was close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States