Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2001
After years of hearing my husband whine "I miss my mothers sauerbraten...it was so good...old german recipe...." I decided to try a "genuine" sauerbraten recipe. I lived in Germany and hated sauerbraten I always refer to it as 'spoiled meat'. :-x But I decided to give him an old world dinner. HE LOVED IT. HE ATE SO MUCH. He rates this a "10". It was a bit hard to make. turning it every day was a pain but well worth it. It made my husband very happy. What more is there to life?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I made this and my husband and I both liked it a lot, I would recommend it! I served it with some red cabbage and mashed pototoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This is the best recipe for sauerbraten that I have tried. I did make two changes. First I cooked the roast in all of the liquid rather than adding one cup at a time. Secondly, I used more sour cream and added cornstarch to thicken the gravy. Thanks Amy for your recipe. Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
The BEST sauerbraten I have ever had! I didn't have ginger snaps so I used ground ginger. I marinated for 4 days slow cooked this overnight and added a little corn starch to thicken the sauce. I served it with potato dumplings. Came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Amy, you are a Goddess! This was the most amazing dish that I have tried in years. Project, no I feel that it was a fun event and I was not disappointed despite the wait. This will be a recipe that I share with other and have to give maximum kudos! P.S. I am not this enthusiastic about many dishes, but thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
You, know, pretty good. The meat needed to cook on the stovetop longer at the end to really be fully tender. I think that my grandma's sauerbraten with gingersnap gravy is clouding my judgment on this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I used a venison roast otherwise the recipe was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
My dad "Otto" and mom "Trudy" are real Germans, born and raised and they approved of this recipe too Amy! Otto considers himself an expert on Sauerbraten, so I was a little nervous about making this for him. He hates when he orders it from a restaurant and they only sour the gravy and not the meat. Well, he went nuts over this fabulous dish!! I did add more seasonings to the marinade but those were the minor changes I made. I was happy to see that there was at least one sauerbraten recipe that called for marinating for five days. In a pinch you could get away with three. Any good German would laugh at anything less. Thanks so much Amy and Dad thanks you too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Followed directions to a T but this has to be a personal preference in taste. Most people I talked to are not fans of sauerbraten but I was willing to give it a try. The whole family did not like. It does have an unusual flavor that must be acquired. Thanks for giving me a chance to try something so different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Not bad. The meat was incredibly tender. Flavour wasn't bad either, but I don't think sauerbraten is my kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States