Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Just like I remember as a child. Even though you have to wait five days for the meat, everyday is a treat to open the lid with the meat in it and smell whats to come in five days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was fantastic!! My husband LOVES German food and was so excited for this tonight! I cooked it in a crock pot on low all day and when he got home, he went and started sniffing it! The only "project" part was the turning, which I didn't find difficult or burdensome at all-easy to do while making meals the other nights. This was delicious and tender enough for my 18 month old to eat! Thank you so much for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wow! I've tried making Sauerbraten before with dismal results, but this recipe is tops! I think the key is the brown sugar in the marinade - it kept the vinegar from overpowering. I know gingersnaps are a more common ingredient, but the brown sugar works much better. great with spaetzle & red cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Didn't change a thing. Watched for 5 days in the fridge. Very easy. Very, very good. Better than most German restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made half of this recipe, for just myself and my boyfriend. He is of German descent and his mother never makes this the "long" way like his grandmother did. So, having never heard of this dish before I decided to make him a meal that reminded him of home, I was glad that this recipe came with lots of comments! I ended up browning the roast in bacon drippings after 5 days of marinating and turning. Then, I placed it in the crock pot with all of the liquid, on low. Being as it was only 2lbs of roast, it was finished in about 4.5 hours. I removed the veggies, and added 1/2 cup gingersnaps to the liquid. I cooked that for an extra 30 minutes, and then added about 3tbsp sour cream to finish the gravy (which was SO delicious!) I served it with red cabbage and potato dumplings. The boyfriend loved it, and said it was very much like his grandmother's. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Used slow cooker for 7 hours on low...it fell apart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was authentic Sauerbraten. I loved it, my family...not so much. I'm glad I have a recipe if I ever need to share one or make this dish for the more appreciative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H0neybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My mother is German and I was raised there. This was an excellent recipe although I added additional vinegar when I boiled down the marinade and added to the gravy. Next time I will add additional vinegar to the marinade for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good, but I only marinated it overnight. One roast went into the oven for 3 hours, the other went into the slow cooker for 8 hours. The oven roasted one tasted better, but the slow cooker was more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHMEJIAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This came out very good but we did have to cook the meat longer than the recipe stated in order to get the meat really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States