Sauerbraten I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My husband requested Sauerbraten, (to which I replied Sauerwhaten?) like his mom used to make from his great grandma's recipe. The only change I made was to add some crushed ginger snaps the the gravy (around 1/2 cup) and whole ginger snaps over the top while cooking. He loved it and ate it for 3 days straight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Tastes just like the traditional fare in one of the authentic German restaurants locally. Very time consuming, but oh so worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessgertie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. I use all of the liquid, but add a little cornstarch to tighten a bit and give the sauce more body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We did an Oktoberfest for a company gathering and used this recipe - went over extremely well. I did not add the carrots or celery since we had other "veggies" we were doing. The client was very impressed. Easy recipe and good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryellen Becker Scheel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
The meat itself tastes great. Everything else is like vinegar solidified...the gravy tastes like you just poured additional vinegar over everything with a hint of sour cream. My 3 year old and 6 year old are trying to eat it, I won't be surprised if they do not finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbigailR84

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this for three other people and myself. Turned out great. Also had red sweet and sour cabbage, homemade applesauce and german noodles. I think adding the ginger snap cookies and such outlined in the comment section would help out the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Eh - lot of work for just okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I made this recipe with some alterations after reviewing several other recipes. I actually soaked my recipe for 5 days with some cider vinegar, some homemade raspberry vinegar and some homemade red wine vinegar combined. I also added a grated apple for the cider taste while in the marinade (plastic zip bag). I fixed with potatoes & potato dumplings for variety..it was great. ** The added variety of vinegars were done because I was too lazy to go to the store and get additional cider vinegar to make the needed amt, so I combined to have 2 cups. ** It was delicious & worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My B/F's mother was 100% german. He kept talking about how good her's sauerbraten was when he was growing up. I wanted to suprise him with a German Dinner. I made this for him and he loved it. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I am German, and I did this for my friends for our baptism party, everyone loved it and so did I Thank you for sharing, I did this the first time from scratch and it was easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mannheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States