Saucy Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I make this a couple times of month. It is really good! I brown the chops and then put them in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Lehman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Great Company Dinner Main course recipe. A twist on the usual fried pork chops with a creamy sauce good enough to serve over rice and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this is awesome recipe that I have used for years. My entire family love it. And very easy to make. P. Blain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
OH MAN!!! My mama used to make this recipe for me when I was a little girl. It's from either Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, or Betty Crocker's cookbook... I can't remember which, but it's a very old-school recipe with a red and white plaid cover on the book. Anywhoo, this was a favorite of mine growing up and I searched for it because I was craving it and wanted to make it for my guy. I was so happy to see it here! I made the following tweaks: 1) Doubled the sauce portion of the recipe; 2) Used Healthy Request Reduced Fat/Sodium Cream of Chicken AND Cream of Mushroom to cut down on calories/fat/greasiness; 3) Used 6 tablespoons of Lea & Perrins THICK recipe Worcestershire sauce; 4) A few heavy-handed dashes of TAPATIO hot sauce -- yes, I'm serious!; 5) A generous pour from a bottle of Merlot I was drinking when I mad this dinner; and 6) Seasoned the chops with salt, pepper & garlic powder and let rest for 7 minutes before browning. IT WAS AWESOME!!!! Zingy, tangy, savory... tender and comforting, just as I remembered this recipe to be. If you're debating on making this, don't! Try it out.... the sauce is killer and is great over mashed potatoes. I served it with a side of asparagus I marinated in olive oil, soy sauce, garlic, and sea salt/pepper. My boyfriend loved it and I can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow. BUEN PROVECHO! Enjoy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Nuys, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I used the basics of this recipe and my boyfriend and I liked this very much. I added more worcestershire sauce and used about half the ketchup, added onion powder and garlic powder. It was really tasty and I could see how the extra sauce would be tasty over mashed or roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Delish! AND made with on-hand ingredients. It doesn't claim to be fancy, just simple ingredients for a simple down-home cookin' taste. I doubled the worcestershire sauce, and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
It was just alright. I didn't care for the sauce. My husband and daughter like it...but def. not love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
delicious! my fiance loved it. i made a few modifications though. i always season my pork chops with onion powder, garlic powder, meat tenderizer when i brown. the sauce i put together as written, then added a handful of brown sugar (about 2 or 3 tablespoons). you must add some sort of liquid to this! the sauce cooks down significantly after 45 minutes of simmering. i added about 1/2 a cup of milk. no leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Did make some changes to the recipe. Dusted the chops with garlic powder as well as the salt and pepper. Instead of using ketchup, I added a splash of sherry. Next time I will use onion powder instead of the sliced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This was okay, but we weren't crazy about the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States