Saucy Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
It was bland...not worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This dish was a HUGE success at my dinner party last night. In the confusion during preparation of all the courses I accidently forgot to add the sour cream and sliced mushrooms to the sauce. By the time I noticed this the sauce was already spread over the chicken so I just added the sliced mushrooms over the top and dropped the sour cream all together. The result was still wonderful and having the mushrooms on top made a really nice presentation. For those who may care what I served this with: I started with the Roasted and Curried Butternut Squash Soup. The main course was served with rice pilaf, steamed broccoli and the Almond Mandarin Salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
FANTASTIC! I'm super paranoid about underdone chicken, so I baked it for 30 min with the cover on, and another 15 min with cover off. Not a bite left and I've been begged to make more!!! (I used stove top dried stuffing instead of breadcrumbs too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I made this dish last night for my boyfriend and he raved about it as do I. I used low fat sour cream, milk and cream of mushroom soup and didn't notice a difference in the taste or consistency of the sauce. Also, instead of regular American ham, I used proscuitto which added more flavor. This was very similar to a dish I used to make long ago and have since lost the recipe, so I was very excited to try this. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I could not get this to work, because I could not get the chicken pounded flat enough and had to bake for an extra hour or so. By that time I was so fed up I did not want to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This recipe overall is fairly difficult to prepare- not something for a busy mom on a busy weeknight. However- it is extremely tasty when done. The addition of sour cream to the sauce was an excellant move- and i used cream of chicken instead of mushroom for those who don't like mushrooms. You will also need toothpicks to secure the meats and cheese together to fry them before baking. I also noticed that if you don't use the wine in the sauce i would recommend substituting half a cup of milk to give the chicken a little more sauce to bake in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
While the chicken itself turned out great, the sauce needs a bit of fixing up. I thought it needed to be "saucier".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
After following the directions and serving the meal to my family we all took bites of half raw chicken. Another 40 minutes at 350 and the ckicken was no longer pink. The sauce calls for far too many mushrooms and I would suggest half the amount of wine. Not sure why there is any call for curry as it didn't seem to contribute to the flavor at all. I'd look elsewhere for a nice Chicken cordon bleu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Great, tasty recipe, a bit time consuming to prepare, but well worth the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Simple and impressive! It's now one of my husband's favorite dishes. The sauce is an excellent addition. I made twice the amount and served it over mashed potatoes. Will be part of my family's meals for years to come. Thank you for sharing Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States