Saucy Chicken Cordon Bleu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I used this recipe for a business dinner and it turned out great. The boss loved it so thats all that mattered. If your a novice cook like some of the reveiws I've seen than it might be wiser to start out with something a little bit more simple. I would loveeeeee to cook this more ofen just for me and hubby but he needs to watch his sodium intake. Thanks for a great dish, I could not have thought if it on my own, but thats why we go to allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Really enjoyed this dish and was quite easy to make. Didn't have any curry or wine but it didn't seem to matter. My husband doesn't particularly like mushrooms so I think the next time I might omit the mushrooms and use cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My daughter was close to tears, after proudly trying to prepare her first meal for her boyfriend. The recipe did not state the chicken was to be fully COOKED in the skillet until done, only browned. She removed it from the oven, and it was raw. Not everyone is an expert chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA  IN E TN
Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We thought this was pretty good. I had to change the sauce quite a bit since mine turned out really thick initially, I added more wine and a little milk. (I ended up adding too much, and added flour to the sauce at the end to thicken it up a tad). The sauce was okay, but we both felt maybe it was unnecessary calories (wasn't incredible enough to warrant adding it). We both thought it was great, though, and I will probably make it again without the sauce for a more crispy traditional cordon bleu. Thanks for an interesting twist! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
LOW CARB VARIATIONS: I cut the flour down to a bare minimum and substituted wheat germ for the bread crumbs... it gives the crunch without the carbs. (I also added some dried parsley in the wheat germ for flavor/color.) I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk which made a big difference in the flavor without the added carbs. I had no swiss cheese, so I used provolone, which was perfect. A radical departure in the sauce to reduce carbs still yielded excellent results: I completely omitted the cream of mushroom soup, but rather sauteed the mushrooms in butter and then wine and poured over the chicken to bake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Great recipe! I took the advice of other raters and cooked it 30 mins covered and 15 mins uncovered to make sure it was done--it came out just right! I added a little extra milk (which I substituted for wine) for a little bit of a thinner sauce which worked out well. Preperation takes about 20 mins, but after that it is easy enough and tastes great! Thanks for the recipe Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Wasn't too keen on the consistency of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The first time I made this recipe I got supurb reviews! It is definately the best Chicken Cordon Blue I have ever had and have been making it this way since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I liked the recipe overall. I substituted finely ground Townhouse crackers for the bread crumbs. However, I did not care of the sauce much. Next time I am going to omit the wine and add the mushroom soup to a roux and add everything else listed for the sauce. Cooking sherry might work better... Also, if you roll up the chicken, ham and cheese and place them in the refrigerator the day before you need to cook them, you will not have to seal them with toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Loved it! Could not get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zfamily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Tarragon Chicken

What's cooking in Bellevue? An authentic, yet modern, French classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States