Saucy Cajun Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These lacked flavor. I couldn't taste the italain dressing. I was really disappointed in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Simple and easy to prepare. And you can even say it's saucy, however it's definitely NOT cajun... it's now where near it. That being said the taste is dependant on the type of dressing you use, how long you marinate and what type of BBQ sauce you baste with...plus this recipe must have a typo. There's no way you need an 18 oz. bottle of BBQ sauce to baste 2 chicken breasts. I used a light Kraft Italian dressing that I spruced up a bit with some additional minced garlic, a little white wine, and fresh herbs. I marinated thawed chicken all day, then basted with KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce. Overall, this is very tasty for only a couple of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was just regular barbecued chicken, nothing special. Flavor will be dependent on the sauce used. We only brushed on what sauce we needed, it was far from a whole bottle. I didn't measure but would guess it to be between a quarter and a half cup of sauce at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was very good. I used 3/4 cup dressing and 1/3 cup barbecue sauce, and I seasoned both sides with cajun seasoning before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Easy? Tasty? Juicy? Yes! Cajun? Whole bottle of sauce? No. Who cares about the name? On one of the busiest days I have had in ages we still had a fine home cooked meal and I didn't call for pizza. I liked that you thawed it in the marinade, because it was one less step and one less dish for me. We used sweet baby ray's sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Not to be picky, but it sure doesn't take a whole bottle of barbecue sauce to coat 2 chicken breasts. A 1/4 or 1/3 cup would be closer to accurate. Also when chicken breasts are mentioned, I'm thinking that it means chicken breast halves and not whole chicken breasts. There isn't anything cajun about this recipe, but it is a good alternative to same ol' same ol' chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Not sure where the Cajun fits in here. That said, the chicken was very good. We marinaded in the Italian dressing for a few hours, then grilled the bone-in legs and breasts basting with the BBQ sauce towards the end. The Italian dressing just adds more flavor and moisture to the chicken then plain old BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This recipe was so simple and so yummy! I placed the frozen chicken and marinade in the refrigerator the night before. The next day in the early afternoon I took them out of the bag and shook off the excess marinade. I then placed them in the slow cooker with the bbq sauce (used hot & spicy sauce) and cooked on low. Once done, I shredded the chicken, then served with store bought kaiser cheese and onion rolls, chedder cheese slices, lettuce, and a bit of bbq sauce to make sandwiches. The chicken was so tender! But like everyone else, this was more of a bbq chicken than a cajun chicken. Thanks for the recipe =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vero Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States