Saucy Beef and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is a great recipe and fairly healthy. I didn't bother with the zucchini or the marjoram but did use some cumin and a little paprika. Also, if you're pressed for time try using a jiffy corn muffin mix on top - although the topping in recipe is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This is so yummy! I actually followed the recipe exactly after reading the reviews and would not change or add anything! I have a family of 6 (#7 due soon), with a few very picky eaters. All of them were eating 2nds, and onions!! Agree with other reviews, the topping is awesome and worth the time and effort, (my daughter,12, made the topping while I made the rest and it was oven ready quickly!) So worth it and a family pleaser! Definately a keeper! Yum, Yum, Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Don't let the number of ingredients needed put you off on making this delicious casserole. Was super easy to make and the topping had a lot of taste also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I added shredded carrots and sliced mushrooms to up the vegetable level. I also sliced the zucchini because the grated seemed to disappear when cooked. This was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOUBIRD
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
The zucchini's optional. It tasted great with or without it. I've made it with ground turkey and it's great that way, too. Also, if the biscuit topping is too thick to spread, just add some more milk. Cook until bisuit topping is cooked through. I hope you enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe . . . my kids are in their early twenties, they and some of their friends loved this recipe. I had them help make it; the neighbor boy across the street was so impressed he asked for the recipe, and then made it with his dad the next day. He said the topping didn’t puff up as much as mine, I told him to add extra flour next time. I added extra flour to mine (1/4c); until the mixture was a little thicker than a standard pancake mix would look like. It would be very easy to play around with the hamburger mixture adding things like black beans, but the only thing I did different was add shredded carrots in place of zucchini. Additionally, did you know that you can substitute white vinegar in place of cream of tartar? It is made from tartaric acid and half neutralized with potassium hydroxide. This process transforms it into a salt. Grapes are the only significant natural source of tartaric acid, and cream of tartar is obtained from sediment produced in the process of making wine. White vinegar or lemon juice, in the ratio of 3 times the amount of cream of tartar called for, will provide the right amount of acid for most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookieman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
we loved it! I added mushrooms just because I had some leftover from my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
This is very flavorful. Lots of ingredients, so it's not cheap, but it was pretty easy to make. We really enjoyed it. The only things I did different were A)used 1 cup of thawed frozen corn instead of canned and B)used bottled minced garlic instead of fresh for ease. Both my husband and I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very good recipe, all 3 children loved it. They loved the "muffin" top. I also added a little extra milk to the topping. I also have used different cheeses such as a mexican one to spice it up abit. Old cheese also makes it tastier. I also add a mix of beans for hidden fibre for my family. I have made this many times now and it has been great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
We loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States