Sauced Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this tonight and it just was not what I expected. It might have been my fault b/c I had to use bottled lemon juice and used Miracle Whip instead of mayo. The taste left something to be desired and 30 minutes left my fish so tough it was hard to eat. I did add dill and some cayenne as suggested by other reviewers but this dish just didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I think this has potential but redoing it to be more palatable would make it an entirely different recipe. As others have mentioned this was kind of a "bottom of the fridge" meal for me prior to my holiday menu shopping. My first red flag was "mayonnaise" which is about equal in my book to "open a can of cream of mushroom soup." In terms of something to add on the fly that might make this palatable it was a toos up between dill and ground red pepper. I chose the pepper and it gave it a bite which was the only thing that made it edible. I think the dijon also might work and I might try it again with that change just to see. Butter AND mayo? That much fat overpowers the fish. Also this sauce makes the cod fillets (a hearty, flaky, firm fish) quite soggy and miserable. Sorry. I do see the potential (without mayo and with something that tastes like something) but this is a full thumbs down for me. About as white bread middle of the country as it is possible to get. Without cream of mushroom soup that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is good as a base. I added cilantro, lime juice and some cajon seasoning and even my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
The cost convinced me to buy cod this time.I found your recipe and decided to try it. I really liked it. Didn't need to make any changes. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
very good, however for my personal taste I will cut down on the lemon juice next time. Also the dijon mustard sounds good for the next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Wonderful sauce. Followed some of the reader's hints. Kept the fish really moist. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Added mushrooms and slivered almonds to sauce. Very good, but a bit bland. Next time will add the dijon as suggested by previous reviewers. Might want to try the sauce on bonless, skinless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I loved this dish, but like the other reviewers recommended, I doctored it up a little. I added mustard (yellow not dijon - it's all I had) and put in about a Tbsp of Creole seasoning and then sprinkled fried onions on top. Delicious! I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Not one of my favorite recipes, I would trim the sauce by at least half and add a 1 to 1 1/2 tsp of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
We enjoyed this easy recipe, although made a few changes at the suggestion of other reviewers. I added 1 tsp. Dijon mustard and garlic powder to the sauce, forgot the lemon juice :( My fillets were frozen, and therefore probably thinner than fresh, so the fish cooked in about 20 min. I sprinkled a little Parmesan over for the last few minutes and ran the pan under the broiler to give it a tinge of color. I sprinkled my own portion liberally with Cajun seasoning, which gave it a nice color and great flavor! Served with sauteed mushrooms and Brussels sprouts - yum. Update: made again adding mustard (accidentally more than recommended - maybe 2 T) made with mustard which included balsamic mustard with Mediterranean spices such as oregano. This made all the differences! My fish-hating daughter cleaned up the pan and asked for it again tomorrow. Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States