Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
First of all thanks for a fantastic recipe! My husband loves seafood and creamy sauces, so to begin I sautee some fresh shrimp and scallops in a pan just lightly seasoned with salt and pepper. Once those are just done (do not overcook) I remove them from the pan (to be reheated in the sauce). For the sauce, I cut the olive oil in half as per other reviews. When I add the spices in the oil to heat; I have found that the longer you heat them the more flavor your sauce will take on. I heat them for about 5 - 7 minutes (stirring often) before I add anything else. I also add the wine before the tomatoe sauce to give the alcohol a chance to boil out. I also cut the sugar out. I guess this depends on your taste, but I find the sugar makes the sauce too sweet for us. We like spicy/savoury food. Once the cream has been added and starts to heat up I put my shrimps and scallops in the sauce and reheat(only a few minutes). I toss this with Fettucini and I get RAVE reviews all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwbabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is a family hit! I have made this recipe several times, using it as a sauce over lobster ravioli. My only recommendation is to add good quality wine before the tomato sauce, bringing it to a boil to evaporate off the strong alcohol flavor. It will also help to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
This sauce is FANTASTIC. I made it for a food demo in a grocery store. Everyone who tried it liked it. I usually do not like what I make but as soon as I took one bite I knew this sauce was a winner. I didn't bother with the peppers or onions. Instead of pasta I had cut boneless, skinless chicken breasts into chunks; then I breaded the chunks in flour and oregano then sauteed the floured chicken chunks in olive oil. After sauteeing the chicken, I prepared the sauce in the same pan. I could not believe how good this sauce is. I'll definitely make this again, and again, and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
YUMMY – very delicious! A great blend of seasoning makes this sauce a definite keeper. Plus, it’s very quick and easy to prepare. I followed the previous reviewers’ advice and used 3 T. olive oil and 1 lb. Tortellini. I also reduced the thyme to ¼ t., the sugar to 1 t. and the pepper flakes to just a dash or two (this sauce comes out quite spicy with the recommended ¼ t.). Lastly, since tomato sauce comes in EIGHT oz. cans and heavy cream comes in EIGHT oz. cartons, I used the full 8 oz. of both and the sauce came out perfectly (hey, why have unnecessary leftovers?) And speaking of leftovers, this sauce tastes EVEN better a day or two later. I now can’t wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
With all the rave reviews, I'm a little surprised that we're not falling out of our chairs in delight with this recipe. I'll make this again, but next time I'll cut the wine and sugar in half - there was just too much tang with the sweetness and alcohol taste for our liking. (We used chardonnay, by the way.) I will re-review this recipe after I try that. By the way, I would say this only serves 2-3 as a main course. The recipe reads that it serves six, but I can only see that in side-dish proportions. UPDATE: The key to five stars is using a pinch of sugar , no wine, and a little less heavy cream (more like 4oz). MUCH better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I used fresh herbs left out the sugar and chicken bouillon as I needed it to be vegetarian. I used it on tortellini as suggested. Everybody loved it so much they were using bread to mop the last bit off their plate. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. While it is possible that my husband and I don't like sweet food and that is why we intensely disliked this, I think it has more to do with the fact that it was just not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
As per other reviewers, decreased the oil to 3 tbsp and omitted the red pepper flakes. My husband added the pepper flakes at the end. We also served with pieces of cooked turkey bacon and grated parmesan cheese. Also boiled the wine and the tomato sauce together to lighten the taste of the wine and because I am pregnant. Next time will decrease the sugar by half (this was way to sweet for us) and will use 4 cloves of garlic instead of 3. Will make again. Thanks for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I too used 1lb of tortellini and the sauce was perfect. A new favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Four stars bedause this is a good base for a rose sauce, but the seasoning is off, and more basil and marjoram works better than thyme. However, individuals can tweak the seasoning to their own taste. For those who didn't like the sweetness, note that the better (and more authentic way) to 'sweeten' a too acidic tomato based sauce is to increase the amount of ONION and sweat them down in the oil well at the beginning of the cooking. Balance of sweetness is also dependent on the white wine used and DON'T leave it out if you want authentic rose sauce. if you prefer a less "sweet" sauce, use a fruity pino grigio, not chardonnay which is much too assertive and astringent, or a blended white table wine. If you do want a bit LESS acidic sauce use a slightly sweeter wine like a Riesling. It should definitely be added in sooner rather than later, also, to mellow the flavor, before adding the cream. Don't use a wine you would not drink -- especially not 'cooking wine' which is bad wine with salt added. All that said, yes if you are not going to use more onions and (RED)bell peppers, then definitely cut back on the oil. Using more of those two veggies will help incorporate the oil better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States