Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
With all the rave reviews, I'm a little surprised that we're not falling out of our chairs in delight with this recipe. I'll make this again, but next time I'll cut the wine and sugar in half - there was just too much tang with the sweetness and alcohol taste for our liking. (We used chardonnay, by the way.) I will re-review this recipe after I try that. By the way, I would say this only serves 2-3 as a main course. The recipe reads that it serves six, but I can only see that in side-dish proportions. UPDATE: The key to five stars is using a pinch of sugar , no wine, and a little less heavy cream (more like 4oz). MUCH better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Good as a base. I will use this recipe to use up extra white wine in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This sauce is incredible. Honestly, I made this for my boyfriend, who usually hates everything prepared in a creamy sauce, and even he was impressed! I am a big fan of rose sauce in general myself, and was so impressed with the base of this sauce I almost didn't want to add the cream in. I would recommend this to recipe to everyone, especially someone on the fence about rose sauce - this will likely win them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samanthaa*

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Even my 3 year old daughter ate this! But I added 1/2 tbl of butter, reduced the white wine to 3 tbl, increased the red pepper flakes to 1 tsp and added 3 tbl each of grated parmesan and mozarella cheeses to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
My new go-to recipe! Its quick and delicious! Use less wine and add it when you add the sauce so the alcohol can cook off. I also added 2 tbsp parmesan and a bag of spinach during the cooking process to thicken the sauce. It seems like a lot of spinach but it will cook down. Thanks for the AWESOME recipe that even my kids will eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
My husband and I loved this!!! When they say restaurants beware; that is an understatement! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grantsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this last night & we all liked it (even the kids!). I did make some changes basically for preference. I omited the onion, pepper, pepper flakes & sugar. After reading reviews the sugar didn't seem like it had to be in there. Instead of the sauce, I used a can of tomato paste with a 1/2 can of water. I did add the wine after the garlic like some suggested. It was a very tatsy sauce & I served it over tortellini as a side dish to pork chops! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent, easy recipe. I popped it in a slow oven for a few hours after stirring in some cooked chicken pieces. My guests and hubby raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Silver Bay, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Colfax, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This recipe is fast , easy, and extremely delicious. I didn't have everything so I improvised - instead of bell pepper, tomatoe sauce, & chick. soup base - I added 1 tomatoe on the vine and 14 oz stewed tomatoes. I had PIAT D'OR wine still from Xmas so I tried that - good thing I didn't add the suger until tasting. Very sweet! Next time I will use a Grigio wine (which is dry and 0 sweetness) and I can't wait - I know it will be perfect! I'll let you know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was really good. Because many complained of the sauce being too thin and runny I added a can of tomato paste and it was perfect. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States