Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was really good. Because many complained of the sauce being too thin and runny I added a can of tomato paste and it was perfect. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
A good base sauce. I had fresh basil on hand, so I used that instead of dried. I only used 3 tbs. of oil and half and half instead of heavy cream. Added 1/4 c. parmesan cheese. The only thing I would change is to use 1/4 c. of wine next time. I added the amount recommended (1/2 c.) before the tomato sauce and boiled some off, but it was still too wine-y. All in all, a good recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was the most amazing sauce I've ever tasted! It was quick to make, and tasted like...heaven. It was also fun drinking the Moscato I put into it while cooking. It had a little heat, but it blended well with the other flavors. As it cooled it was a little difficult not to get Thyme stuck in my teeth--I would try to grind this or use fresh next time (and reduced). Otherwise, perfect perfect perfect!!! (Oh, and I used the suggestion to boil the wine a bit before adding the tomato sauce and chicken base, and only added a dash of sugar instead of the full tablespoon, as another reviewer suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This sauce was good! Mine didn't turn out quite perfectly, but not through the fault of the recipe. My stove just likes to burn things (like the herbs and garlic, and the tomato sauce sizzled as well) even when on low heat. It turned out better than I thought though, I was afraid the sauce would taste of burnt herbs but it was fine. I did make some slight changes, including omitting the green pepper and the onion (my brother won't eat onion-y sauce), adding about 1/4 cup of parm to help thicken it, and I didn't measure the amounts of tomato sauce or cream, so I'm not sure how much I added. I also agree with another reviewer's suggestion to add the white wine with the tomato sauce, rather than with the cream, so that more of the alcohol cooks off. I also took the suggestion of a few others and reduced the amount of oil, to about 4 tbsp, and I think when I make again, I'll put even less oil. But overall, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I found this dish very easy to prepare and absolutely wonderful. If you are concerned with consistency don't be. I was a little worried about it at first but after i mixed in the pasta everything seemed fine, also it does thicken upon cooling. My only problem was finding a way to use the other 2, 1/2 cups of wine ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very tasty and easy to put together. Tasted like we were dining at a fine restaurant. I used half & half instead of cream. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a tee. Will make this again for sure!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
We loved it!! I was nervous after reading the review from above, but we thought is was great and we would definitely make it again. I would follow the advice of a previous reviewer and add the wine in the beginning to allow it to cook off some of the alcohol flavor and to thicken it up a bit. If you like wine sauces, you'll like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hannover, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This sauce was too runny and tasted too much of wine. Would not use it again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I had a craving for tortellini in rosee sauce with sausage after having it at a local restaurant. This recipe did not disappoint! I browned the sausage in the olive oil and herb mixture, then removed the sausage and added the wine to let it reduce for a bit. I then followed the recipe, adding my cut up sausage before the cream after having let them sit for a bit to let the juices settle. I used a mixture of sweet and hot italian sausage. This was the best pasta dish I've made at home ever and will be my go to meal. It's easy, not too expensive to prepare, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe and is loved by all in this household. I follow it exactly with one exception of using tomato paste and a bit of water instead of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States