Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Loved this sauce. I did make a few changes, but that was due to personal preference (added more garlic and red pepper flakes and cut sugar in half) and what I had on hand (fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream). Also, I added the wine with the tomato sauce as others had suggested to give the alchohol time to burn off. I sauteed some shrimp and spinach to add to the tortellini, and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Very tasty indeed! It was a tad too sweet but that's a personal preference. Overall very delicious and easy to put together. Great weeknight treat. Thank you for a simple yet tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is great! I made it with shrimp and spinach tortellini. I cooked the shrimp with a little olive oil and salt and pepper and took them out of the pan. Only used 4 table spoons of olive oil. Omitted the sugar. Added the wine before the tomato sauce, brought it to a boil and then added the tomato sauce and bring that to a boil. Tossed everything together at the end. Delicious! You can really put this on any pasta! I didn't cut up the pepper small enough so next time I am going to make sure it is very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This sauce is addictive! I need a 12-step program for it. Excuse me as I lick the bowl so I do not miss a drop of this sauce. Did I mention I really like this sauce? I just added this to my family favorites folder. I followed the directions until the tomato sauce. I substituted spaghetti sauce for that, and then substituted a light alfredo sauce for the heavy cream. I served it with tortellini. Excuse me while I go into my Sauce Rosee coma now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This tastes a little like tomato soup from a can doctored up a bit. I followed the directions except for using a bit less thyme and red pepper flakes, otherwise, followed exactly. I think it would be better with petite diced tomatoes instead of the sauce but otherwise it was ok. I think I'll stick with my recipe for Linguine with Shrimp and Tomatoes recipe here on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B RUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rock Valley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I had to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had on hand (milk instead of cream; water + 2 chicken bouillon cubes in place of wine/chicken soup base). Because I had to use milk instead of cream, I ended up thickening the sauce just slightly. I used about 1 tsp cornstarch and a few drops of cold water and dissolved in a small bowl, then added a few spoons of the hot sauce to it to temper, then added all back to the sauce pot and cooked until the consistency had thickened just a bit and was perfect. This is an excellent sauce. So nice in warmer weather when you don't want a heavy, meaty sauce. Thanks for sharing your recipe, YGBELAND - we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This recipe has wonderful flavors, however I thought the amount of oil and the amount of sugar was a bit much. I did not use the amount of oil called for, but I did use the two tbsp of sugar and although we all liked the sauce, we felt it was a bit too sweet. I will cut the sugar back a tbsp next time and add more red pepper flakes for a bit more spice. All in all this is a very nice recipe that I will definitely use again with a few minor modifications. My husband thought this sauce would be good with Shrimp added. May try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyTech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was quite tasty! I did make a heavy cream substitution because I did not have heavy cream, the only fault I found with doing this is that the butter made the dish greasy. Maybe next time, I'll leave the butter out and just use milk or try it made with buttermilk. I always have dry buttermilk in the fridge and don't ever buy heavy cream. I made this a couple of nights ago and I am wanting to make more. I do think the sauce could have used a small amount of flour to bind everything together a little bit more, but it could be that the butter (grease) was causing it separate. Overall....I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Yes, yes! My husband loved this, and the rest of our family(including young kids) thought it was good, too. My only issue was that there was WAY too much oil. I think next time I will halve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States