Sauce Rosee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I think the recipe has great potential with a few tweaks. I agreed with other reviewers that the wine needs to be boiled for awhile to reduce the strong alcohol taste. I also agree that the thyme flavor was overpowering. And lastly the sauce was a bit thin. Perhaps less thyme and less wine? I served with chicken and motzarella ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great sauce - I'm sharing with all friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I loved this sauce. I made it as written except for cutting down the olive oil to 3 tbsps. Since I'm eating a low carb diet, I grilled some shrimp and laid it on a bed of fresh, raw spinach and poured some of this sauce on top with a few grinds of black pepper and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese. It was absolutely delicious. I have some left for tomorrow in the fridge and I'm having a hard time refraining from going and eating it by the spoonful. Thank you so much for the brilliant recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Family loved it and it was fast and easy to make. I didn't have any wine on hand and it was still amazing. Paired with basic pasta recipe on this site. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made a double batch and I cut in half the olive oil. I like my food a little spicy so I added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper for just a mild hint of hot. I added shrimp and served over spaghetti topped with parmesan with garlic bread on the side. Great cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We really liked this sauce although I started with less olive oil (6 tbls. not necessary). I tossed grilled chicken and penne with the sauce and it came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Four stars bedause this is a good base for a rose sauce, but the seasoning is off, and more basil and marjoram works better than thyme. However, individuals can tweak the seasoning to their own taste. For those who didn't like the sweetness, note that the better (and more authentic way) to 'sweeten' a too acidic tomato based sauce is to increase the amount of ONION and sweat them down in the oil well at the beginning of the cooking. Balance of sweetness is also dependent on the white wine used and DON'T leave it out if you want authentic rose sauce. if you prefer a less "sweet" sauce, use a fruity pino grigio, not chardonnay which is much too assertive and astringent, or a blended white table wine. If you do want a bit LESS acidic sauce use a slightly sweeter wine like a Riesling. It should definitely be added in sooner rather than later, also, to mellow the flavor, before adding the cream. Don't use a wine you would not drink -- especially not 'cooking wine' which is bad wine with salt added. All that said, yes if you are not going to use more onions and (RED)bell peppers, then definitely cut back on the oil. Using more of those two veggies will help incorporate the oil better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Fantastic recipe! We substituted some liquid beef stock for the chicken bouillon, and used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes (because we didn't have any) and it still came out wonderfully. Also added some baked fish on the side for protein. Felt easy to make, and had just the perfect combination of sweetness and savoury italian flavours. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a really good base recipe. I followed it almost exactly and would probably omit the sugar and use less bouillon next time. I may also try this recipe with less cream and add a diced tomato. We added chicken adouille sausage and made fresh pasta. This really worked well with with this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Loved this sauce. I did make a few changes, but that was due to personal preference (added more garlic and red pepper flakes and cut sugar in half) and what I had on hand (fat free 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream). Also, I added the wine with the tomato sauce as others had suggested to give the alchohol time to burn off. I sauteed some shrimp and spinach to add to the tortellini, and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States